Skip to content ↓

Twelve MIT faculty are elected to AAAS

Twelve MIT faculty members are among the 203 new Fellows and 24 new Foreign Honorary Members recently elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock, and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has elected as Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation.

They include George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth.

The current membership includes more than 170 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners. An independent policy research center, the Academy undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Current Academy research focuses on science and global security; social policy; the humanities and culture; and education.

The Academy will welcome this year's new class at its annual induction ceremony in October at its Cambridge, Mass. headquarters.

New members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences from MIT are:

Stephen D. Ansolabehere, Elting R. Morison Professor of Political Science

Rodney Brooks, Panasonic Professor of Robotics and Director of the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory

Arup K. Chakraborty, Robert T. Haslam Professor of Chemical Engineering; Professor of Chemistry; Professor of Biological Engineering

Glenn Ellison, Professor of Economics

Gregory Chung-Wei Fu, Professor of Chemistry

Victor Kac, Professor of Mathematics

Evelyn Fox Keller, Professor of the History and Philosophy of Science

Tomasz Mrowka, Professor of Mathematics

Whitney K. Newey, Professor of Economics

Peter C. Perdue, T.T. and Wei Fong Chao Professor of Asian Civilizations and Professor of History

Peter H. Schiller, Dorothy W. Poitras Professor in Medical Engineering and Medical Physics, Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences

Snyder, Jr., James M.: Arthur and Ruth Sloan Professor of Political Science and Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 9, 2007 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News