Skip to content ↓

National Academy of Engineering welcomes 2 from MIT

Two MIT professors are among the 76 new members of the National Academy of Engineering.

Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions an engineer can receive. Academy membership honors those who have made "outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice or education" and who have demonstrated accomplishment in the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

MIT's new members are:

Dimitri A. Antoniadis, the Ray and Maria Stata Professor of Electrical Engineering, for "contributions on microelectronics in field-effect devices and for silicon process modeling."

M. Frans Kaashoek, professor of computer science and electrical engineering, for "contributions to computer systems, distributed systems, and content-distribution networks."

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 15, 2006 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News