Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

House & Garden magazine recognized MIT in its April award section called "The Innovators: A Salute to 25 Torchbearers Lighting the Way to New and Better Design." MIT is No. 14 on the list, and the citation says, "With new buildings by Charles Correa, Frank Gehry and Steven Holl, its restoration of older buildings by Eero Saarinen and Alvar Aalto, and its original neoclassical structures, MIT now arguably has the most architecturally diverse campus in the nation."

Drazen Prelec, professor in the MIT Sloan School of Management, has been named Leon Levy Member of the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton; he gave the first public Leon Levy Lecture on March 29.

Xavier Gabaix, associate professor of economics, is the 2006 recipient of the Young Scientist Award for Socio- and Econophysics. Gabaix was honored for his work using statistical physics to better understand financial markets. The prize was awarded March 28 at the spring meeting of the German Physical Society by the society's Section for Physics of Socio-Economic Systems.

MIT President Emeritus Charles Vest will receive an honorary doctorate in law from Cambridge University at a ceremony in June. As president, Vest helped set up the Cambridge-MIT Institute, an alliance between the two institutions designed to create research projects, educational programs and student exchange programs.

Krzysztof Wodiczko, professor of architecture, was recently named the 21st Robert Lepper Distinguished Lecturer in Creative Inquiry. Wodiczko delivered the lecture on April 18 at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on April 26, 2006 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News