Skip to content ↓

Hockfield will take her place in AAAS Oct. 8

President Susan Hockfield will be inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences on Saturday, Oct. 8, at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Fellows are selected through a highly competitive process that recognizes individuals who have made pre-eminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large. They are nominated and elected to the academy by current members.

Hockfield is a member of the 2004 class of fellows, but was unable to attend last year's induction ceremony, so she will be formally inducted with the 2005 class.

MIT fellows in the 2005 class are Professor Edward DeLong of civil and environmental engineering; Professor John Guttag of electrical engineering and computer science; Professor Daniel Nocera of chemistry, who is also the W. M. Keck Professor of Energy; Harriet Ritvo, the Arthur J. Conner Professor of History; and Richard Samuels, the Ford Foundation International Professor of Political Science.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on October 5, 2005 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News