Skip to content ↓

Ilona Karmel Writing Prizes Competition awards

Boit Manuscript Prize--essay
1st prize: Anna Wexler '07, BCS, Fair Lawn, N.J.
2nd prize: Matthew R. Burns '05, writing, Duxbury, Mass.
Honorable mention: Jiji Gu '07, materials science and engineering, Syosset, N.Y.

Boit Manuscript Prize--fiction
1st prize: Adora Asala '04, writing, Nigeria
2nd prize: Caroline Fu '05, biology, Stafford, Texas
Honorable mention: Grace Lin '05, biology, Beverly Hills, Calif.

Dewitt Wallace Prize for Scientific Writing for the Public
1st prize: Uta Maeda '07, BCS, Bel Aire, Kan.
2nd prize: Benjamin Lee '07, biology, Cupertino, Calif.
Honorable mention: Yin Ren '06, EECS, Windsor, Ontario

Ellen King Prize for Freshman Writing
2nd prize for short story: Mary-Irene Lang '08, physics, Los Altos Hills, Calif.
2nd prize for essay: Jaime Heffernan '08, Cambridge, Mass.
Honorable mention for essay: Nivair H. Gabriel '08, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Writing Science Fiction
1st prize: Madeliene Sheldon-Dante '07, physics, Penn Valley, Pa.
2nd prize: Elizabeth Zellner '06, materials science and engineering, Fayettteville, N.C.
Honorable mention: Christopher Walsh '05, BCS, Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Robert A. Boit Writing Prize--essay
1st prize: Anna D. Bergren '05, mathematics, Laurel, Md.
2nd prize: Matthew R. Burns '05, writing, Duxbury, Mass. and Jessica Young '06, writing, Pleasantville, N.Y.
3rd prize: Victoria Y. Fan '06, mechanical engineering, Honolulu, Hawaii, and Theresa Shyr '05, biology, Lafayette, La.

Robert A. Boit Writing Prize--poetry
1st prize: Jessica Young '06, writing, Pleasantville, N.Y.
2nd prize: Nadezhda Belova '05, BCS, Brooklyn, N.Y.
3rd prize: Matthew Burns '05, writing, Duxbury, Mass.

Robert A. Boit Writing Prize--short story
1st prize: Jocelyn Rodal '06, literature, Davidson, N.C.
2nd prize: Adora Asala '05, writing, Nigeria
3rd prize: Farah Ghniem '07, CEE, Amman, Jordan
Honorable Mention: Anita Kris '06, materials science and engineering, Merced, Calif.

S. Klein Prize for Scientific and Technical Writing
1st prize: Ying Zheng '06, mechanical engineering, Ann Arbor, Mich.
2nd prize: Shauna Mei '04, management, Bellevue, Wash., and Craig Rothman '05, EECS and biology, King of Prussia, Pa.
Honorable mention: David M. Foxe G, architecture, Sussex, Wis., and Stephen Lee '05, biology, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Writing and Humanistic Prize for Engineering Writing
1st prize: Ragu Vijaykumar '05, EECS, Pittsburgh, Pa.
2nd prize: Muyinatu Lediju '06, mechanical engineering, Brooklyn, N.Y.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 1, 2005 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News