Skip to content ↓

IDEAS Competition awards

Awards are given for innovative projects that make a positive change in the world.

$5,000 Award--Bicilavadora
- Radu Raduta '05, aero/astro, Timisoara, Romania
- Jessica Vechakul '05, mechanical engineering, New York, N.Y.
- Teresa Baker G, mechanical engineering, Burbank, Calif.
- Stephanie Dalquist G, Technology and Policy Program, Wayzata, Minn.
- Alexander Yip G, EECS, Massapequa, N.Y.
- Kimberley Harrison '07, mechanical engineering, Brooklyn, N.Y.

$5,000 Award--Robopsy
- Connor James Walsh G, mechanical engineering, Dublin, Ireland
- Nevan Hanumara G, mechanical engineering, Kingston, R.I.
- Steven Barrett '05, Cambridge-MIT Exchange Program, London, England

$3,000 Award--Mozambique Environmental Sanitation Initiative
- Ella Lazarte G, DUSP, Palo Alto, Calif.
- Valentina Zuin G, DUSP, Milano, Italy
- Monica Romis G, DUSP, Napoli, Italy
- Gabriele Kruks-Wisner G, DUSP, Oberlin, Ohio
- Jigar Bhatt G, DUSP, Hopelawn, N.J.
- Pragnya Alekal G, CEE, Lakewood, Calif.
- Basilia Yao G, DUSP, New York, N.Y.
- Anna Brown G, DUSP, Freeport, Maine
- Brian Robinson G, DUSP, Atlanta, Ga.

$3,000 Award--VacPac
- Ethan Crumlin '05, mechanical engineering, Worcester, Mass.
- Geoff Becker '05, mechanical engineering, Coral Springs, Fla.
- Amy Wong '05, mechanical engineering, Brooklyn, N.Y.
- Emily Smith 05, mechanical engineering, Des Moines, Iowa

$2,000 Award--Solar Water Disinfection Device
- Anna Bershteyn '06, materials science and engineering, Cupertino, Calif.
- Eun Mee Yang '07, biology, Falls Church, Va.
- Xanat Flores G, CEE, Mexico City, Mexico
- Ed Hseih '05, mechanical engineering, Scarsdale, N.Y.

$2,000 Award--Wider Reach
- Brian Roughan G, management, Cambridge, Mass.
- Armina Karapetyan G, management, Moscow, Russia
- Kamal Quadir G, management, Dhaka, Bangladesh
- Justin Cook G, management, Eugene, Ore.
- Joe Zeff '05, management, West Bloomfield, Mich.
- Jose Espinosa G, media arts and sciences, Mexico City, Mexico

$2,000 Award--MANTRA II
- Nupur Garg '07, chemical engineering, Pensacola, Fla.
- Saumya Garg (alumnus), Pensacola, Fla.

$2,000 Award--Parabolic Power
- Matthew Orosz G, CEE, Bridgewater, Mass.
- Headley Jacobus '05, mechanical engineering, Mendham, N.J.
- Toni Ferreira '05, mechanical engineering, Chicopee, Mass.
- Amy Mueller G, CEE Mequon, Wis.

Star Volunteer Award--for three years of hard work helping to make the IDEAS Competition a success
- Julie Goss '05, materials science and engineering, Cambridge, Mass.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 1, 2005 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story