Skip to content ↓

Awards & Honors

The Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry has published a special issue dedicated to Professor Emeritus of Chemistry William Orme-Johnson in recognition of his outstanding contributions over four decades. The articles in vol. 93, issues 1-2 were written by Orme-Johnson's former students and collaborators, and several renowned scientists have written personal tributes. The issue is online here.

Professor Robert Langer has received the Dickson Prize for Science from Carnegie Mellon University. The prize, which this year is $38,000, comes from a trust established by the late Dr. and Mrs. Joseph Z. Dickson of Pittsburgh.

Professor James G. Fujimoto of electrical engineering and computer science has been selected to receive the Vladimir Karapetoff Award in recognition of his research in the branch of laser medicine known as optical coherence tomography, allowing minimally invasive, high-resolution medical diagnosis. Established at MIT in 1988, the Karapetoff Award is given to a member of the MIT community who has, "by research, theorizing or teaching, made the most valuable discovery for, or contribution to, the benefit of science and/or mankind." The award recipient receives a discretionary research allowance (this year's amount is $10,000). Prior awardees include Heidi Hammel in 1994, for the monitoring of a collision of a comet with the planet Jupiter as well as her work to disseminate her findings and to contribute to the education of the public, and Timothy Swager in 2000, for his work on developing sensors for use in the detection of TNT, the most common explosive in landmines.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 12, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News