Skip to content ↓

Hastings to be nominated to National Science Board

Daniel Hastings
Daniel Hastings

President George W. Bush announced Thursday he will nominate MIT Professor Daniel Hastings and seven others to serve on the National Science Board, the 20-person board of directors of the National Science Foundation.

Hastings is presently the associate director of the Engineering Systems Division at MIT. He also currently serves as Professor of Engineering Systems and is the director of MIT's Technology and Policy Program. From 1997 to 1999, he served as the Air Force Chief Scientist, and was honored with the Air Force Distinguished Civilian Award in 1997 and 1999.

The other nominees to the NSB include Barry Barish, the Linde Professor of Physics at the California Institute of Technology; Steven Beering, professor of medicinal chemistry and molecular pharmacology and president emeritus at Purdue University; Ray Bowen, former president of Texas A&M University who served from 1990 to 1991 as deputy assistant director for engineering at the NSF; Delores Etter, a professor of electrical engineering at the United States Naval Academy and former deputy undersecretary of defense for science and technology; Kenneth Ford, the director of the Institute for Human and Machine Cognition at the University of West Florida; Douglas Randall, a professor of biochemistry and director of the interdisciplinary program on plant biochemistry-physiology at the University of Missouri; and Jo Anne Vasquez of Arizona, an author and former faculty member at Arizona State University who spent many years teaching science education to primary and intermediate level classes.

Related Topics

More MIT News