Skip to content ↓

108 new retirees honored at Quarter Century Club dinner

Ted Johnson (left) of the Campus Activities Complex takes a photo of retirement dinner guests. Posing with the MIT beaver mascot are (left to right) Professor of Literature Travis Merritt; Nita Regnier, instructor in the Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies; and Bonnie Walters, associate dean in the Office of Academic Services.
Ted Johnson (left) of the Campus Activities Complex takes a photo of retirement dinner guests. Posing with the MIT beaver mascot are (left to right) Professor of Literature Travis Merritt; Nita Regnier, instructor in the Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies; and Bonnie Walters, associate dean in the Office of Academic Services.
Photo / Laura Wulf

One hundred and eight newly retired faculty and staff members from campus and Lincoln Laboratory were honored at the annual retirement dinner at the Faculty Club on June 13. President and Mrs. Vest and the Quarter Century Club Board of Directors hosted the event; Vice President and Secretary of the Corporation Kathryn Willmore was mistress of ceremonies.

Also acknowledged by President Vest at the dinner was James J. Fandel, former president of the Quarter Century Club, and Mary Frances Daly, former recording secretary, who both stepped down from their QCC roles in May. Replacing Mr. Fandel as president is Professor of Physics Anthony P. French. There are now more than 2,800 active and retired members of the QCC, which is open to employees who have been at MIT for 25 years or more.

The combined total years of service of this year's group of retirees is 2,506 years, with an average of 23 apiece. Topping the list was William A. Breen of Lincoln Lab at 47 years. Of the 108 retirees, 64 were from campus and 44 were from Lincoln Lab.

Following is the list of 1999-2000 retirees and the number of years they were employed at MIT. (Some departmental information provided may appear outdated, as several retirees are on long-term disability. Individuals' most recent departmental affiliations are listed.)

Glenn W. Armistead, Lincoln Lab Group 34 (33)

Robert J. Averill, Lab for Nuclear Science (10)

Anita L. Bailey, Medical Department (18)

John A. Bishop, Housing (22)

Howard Blatt, Lincoln Lab (44)

V.F. Omer Bourque, Lincoln Fiscal Office (12)

William A. Breen, Lincoln Lab Group 18 (47)

Roland I. Buoncuore, Lincoln Lab Group 18 (28)

Richard P. Burnes, Lincoln Lab Group 17 (39)

Robert B. Burns, Lincoln Lab Group 72 (41)

Mary A. Calderazzo, Provost's Office (16)

Richard J. Camille, Jr., Plasma Science and Fusion Center (9)

Eric S. Chivian, Medical Department (20)

Michael C. Ciaglo, Document Services (33)

Sarajane Ciampa, Medical Department, 7)

Anthony M. Cieri, Mechanical Engineering (33)

Patricia M. Claffey, Brain and Cognitive Sciences (16)

Annie Clancy, Controller's Accounting Office (11)

Eulis Clarke, Facilities (12)

John J. Connelly, Lincoln Lab Group 71 (38)

Ronald Davis, Lincoln Lab Group 11 (10)

John J. Doherty, Information Systems (33)

Richard E. Dolbec, Lincoln Lab Group 33 (37)

John R. Ehrenfeld, Center for Technology, Policy and Industrial Development (17)

Howard R. Engelson, Corporate Development (13)

David J. Epstein, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) (44)

Herbert W. Feinstein, Lincoln Lab Group 75 (19)

Harvey A. Fenton, Lincoln Lab Group 73 (30)

Irene A. Ferretti, Medical Department (20)

William E. Fielding, Lincoln Lab Group 72 (31)

John F. Filippi, Facilities (19)

John E. Foley, Treasurer's Office (27)

Claude A. French Jr., Lincoln Lab Group 18 (19)

Keiko Fujiwara, Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences (HST) (26)

Joan F. Fulton, Lincoln Lab Group 73 (20)

John A. Gangi, Facilities (26)

Carol J. Gleason, Controller's Accounting Office (40)

George Gorski-Popiel, Lincoln Lab Group 31 (31)

Ray E. Goyette, Lincoln Lab (14)

Gerald A. Greenhow, Controller's Accounting Office (37)

William F. Hamilton, Lincoln Lab Group 3KM (18)

James W. Harrill, Lincoln Lab (21)

Robert G. Hart, Information Systems (39)

Joseph Hayes, Endicott House (12)

Carl E. Hewitt, EECS (29)

Dorothy E. Howells, Lincoln Lab Group 95 (11)

Jarmila Z. Hrbek, Technology Licensing Office (37)

Guy Huse, Lincoln Lab Group 33 (20)

David L. Immerman, Lincoln Lab Group 73 (13)

William J. Ince, Lincoln Lab Group 33 (39)

Philip O. Jarvinen, Lincoln Lab Group 75 (26)

Melba Mamiya Jezierski, Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies (11)

Gus Jones, Lincoln Lab Group 12 (19)

Jean E. King, Lincoln Lab Group 17 (12)

Norman W. King, Lincoln Lab Group 12 (20)

Robert T. Kirkland, Lincoln Lab Group 12 (11)

George H. Knittel, Lincoln Lab Group 33 (27)

Prasad R. Kommineni, Lincoln Lab Group 71 (13)

Wade M. Kornegay, Lincoln Lab Division 3 (38)

Robert H. Langlais, Lincoln Lab Group 12 (10)

Lee Ann Latham, School of Architecture and Planning (12)

Thomas H. Lee, EECS ( 9)

Milena M. Levak, Graduate Education Office (13)

P. David Luckey Jr., Physics (43)

Frederick J. Madden, Lincoln Lab Group 72 (10)

Joseph Mammano, Housing (14)

Meg Manderson, Sloan School (12)

Donna R. Martinez, Aeronautics and Astronautics (14)

Satoru Masamune, Chemistry (21)

Francis X. Masse, Environmental Medical Service (41)

James H. McCarthy, Human Resources (23)

Patricia A. McGroarty, HST (40)

Winnetta J. McKasson, Lincoln Lab Group 11 (10)

Alan J. McLaughlin, Lincoln Lab Director's Office (33)

Jean C. Mead, Lincoln Lab Group 65 (38)

Margo M. Miller, Libraries (28)

Franklin F. Mucci, Lincoln Fiscal Office (13)

Marjory Patricia Neal, Lab for Nuclear Science (12)

Oscar P. Neil, Lincoln Lab Group 11 (12)

Edward C. Nelson, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences (EAPS) (34)

Linda R. Nessman, Lincoln Lab Group 52 (18)

Khadjik K. Niukian, Medical Department (13)

James F. O'Keefe, Facilities (11)

Kathleen T. O'Sullivan, Lab for Information and Decision Systems (35)

Leslie Pardy Jr., Campus Police (39)

Nita Regnier, Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies (14)

Bowen Robinson, Housing (26)

Jasper Rogers, Facilities (11)

Norma H. Schmidt, Office of Budget and Financial Planning (12)

Campbell L. Searle, EECS (40)

Dante J. Sgrosso, Lincoln Lab Group 12 (14)

Anna R. Shriber, Housing (7)

Charles R. Silva, Office of Lab Supplies (32)

Donald J. Silva, Facilities (38)

Frank J. Silva, Plasma Science and Fusion Center (34)

Mary P. Smith, Medical Department (11)

David L. Spears, Lincoln Lab Group 83 (31)

Robert A. Steeves, Lincoln Lab (26)

David M. Terry, Information Systems (32)

Richard F. Thys, Facilities (32)

Virginia D. Tobler, Lincoln Lab Group 11 (11)

Mary J. Tucker, Controller's Accounting Office (21)

Roger M. Turpening, EAPS (22)

Bonnie J. Walters, Office of Academic Services (20)

Eugene West, Lincoln Lab Group 11 (24)

Michael P. Wirzbicki, Lincoln Lab Group 72 (27)

John P. Woods, Lincoln Lab Group 64 (28)

The-Chin Wung, Division of Comparative Medicine (17)

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on July 12, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News

Woman leans on the ledge surrounding an indoor water tank, posing next to a small robotic boat that is also resting on the ledge

Educating future naval leaders

In class 2.702 (Systems Engineering and Naval Ship Design), naval officers and other graduate students get hands-on experience in project management skills that will be central to their future careers.

Read full story