Skip to content ↓

Students, professor in EECS receive awards

The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science gave out the following awards:

Four graduate students were recognized for teaching excellence. The Carlton E. Tucker Teaching Award went toMaya R. Said of Damascus, Syria. Mohammed Saeed of Andover, MA received the Harold L. Hazen Teaching Award. Frederick C. Hennie III Teaching Awards went to Albert M. Chan of Ontario, Canada and Amy N. Englehart of Cambridge.

George M. Sprowls Awards for outstanding doctoral research contributions in computer science have been given to alumni/ae Daniele Micciancio, PhD 1998 ("On the Hardness of the Shortest Vector Problem"), and Dawson Engler("The Exokernal Operating System Architecture"), Andrew Myers ("Mostly Static Decentralized Information Flow Control") and Matteo Frigo ("Portable High-Performance Programs"), all of whom received the PhD in 1999. Mr. Engler's and Mr. Myers's theses were also nominated by MIT for the ACM Doctoral Dissertation Awards in Computer Science for 1998-99.

The Northern Telecom/BNR Project Award for the best 6.111 laboratory project (spring 1999) went to "TA Hunt" by graduate students Charles B. Lee of Arcadia, CA; Sandia Ren of Beijing, China; and Xiaolan Qian of Princeton, NJ. The award for fall 1999 was presented to juniors Nisha Checka of Plano, TX and Yanlok Charlotte Lau of Kwun Tong, Kowloon for "Digital Music Synthesizer."

The Morris Joseph Levin Award for Best MasterWorks Oral Thesis Presentation (spring 2000) went to graduate students William Adjie-Winoto of Surabaya, Indonesia; Eladio C. Arvelo of Miami, FL; Matthew S. DeBergalis of Greenwich, CT; Dario Gil of Cambridge; Shawn M. Hwang of Richardson, TX; Christopher Lin of Flushing, NY;Yu-Ming Lin of Taipei, Taiwan; Karen Livescu of Marlboro, NJ; and Shayan Mookherjea of Calcutta, India.

The George C. Newton Undergraduate Laboratory Prize for the best 6.111 laboratory project (spring 1999) was presented to "Dancing Robots" by Jason Timpe, a graduate student from Cherry Valley, IL; Nicholas C. Homer, a junior from Dushore, PA; and Philip W. Juang, a senior from Cincinnati.

Peggy B. Chen of Cypress, CA won the David Adler Memorial Thesis Prize. Jeremy J. Lilley of Medford, OR took first place in the competition for the Charles and Jennifer Johnson Thesis Prize, while Ian R. Schechter of Oceanside, NY took second place. Kenneth Lu, a senior from San Francisco, won the David A. Chanen Writing Award. Peter M. Ju of Winchester, MA received the William A. Martin Memorial Thesis Prize.

In the competition for the Ernst A. Guillemin Thesis Award, first place went to Brian B. Graham of Seattle, and second place went to Serena Chan of Brooklyn, NY and Tommy Ng of Maracaibo, Venezuela.

Raffi C. Krikorian, a senior from New City, NY, and freshman Bradley Kaanta of Colchester, VT won Robert A. Fano UROP Awards. The Anna Pogosyants UROP Award went to Michael Tsai, a junior from Etna, NH.

The Department Head's Special Recognition Award for outstanding service to the department was bestowed on seniors Chee We Ng of Singapore and Jacob Strauss of Needham, MA. The Ruth and Joel Spira Award was given to Professor Leonard McMillan.

R. Krishna Sanka of Baltimore, a senior in EECS with minors in theater and biology, has won one of the four Kawamura Fellowships awarded this year. The program, limited to MIT and Harvard students, sponsors four students for a five-week stay in Japan during which they live with Japanese families and meet government and business officials.

Eta Kappa Nu, the national electrical engineering honor society, bestowed its Norman R. Carson Outstanding Junior Award honorable mention on Ishwar Sivakumar, a junior from Plainsboro, NJ, in recognition of his leadership, scholarship and service.

Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, has awarded one of 10 scholarships to Erick N. Tseng, a junior from Hingham, MA. The awards are made on the basis of high scholarship, campus leadership and service, and promise of future contributions to the engineering profession. The organization also gave its National Outstanding Advisor award to John A. Tucker, chief advisor to MIT's chapter of Tau Beta Pi. He is a lecturer in electrical enginering and computer science and director emeritus of the department's VI-A internship program.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 31, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News