Skip to content ↓

Chemistry awards given to 13 seniors

Thirteen seniors in the Department of Chemistry have been recognized by the department for their achievements over the past year.

The Alpha Chi Sigma Award for achievement in research, scholarship and service to the department went to Connie C. Lu, a senior from Miami, and Rachel Stanley of Waban, MA. The American Institute of Chemists Foundation Award was given to Cynthia H. Liang of Lexington, MA for outstanding achievement, ability, leadership and character.

Chemistry Undergraduate Service Awards, presented for significant service to the department, went to Isabelle J. Halphen of Bethesda, MD and Clifton D. Leigh of Little Rock, AR.

Merck Index Awards for outstanding scholarship went to Eric M. Ferreira of Sonora, CA; Mark Stoykovitch of Dover, NH; and Alice W. Wang of Sylvania, OH.

Thomas A. Baker of Des Moines, IA won the Hypercube Scholar Award for outstanding achievement in computational chemistry. Frederick D. Greene Teaching Awards were presented to Victoria A. Gomez of Wayne, PA, and Alice W. Wang for outstanding contributions in teaching.

Chemistry Undergraduate Research Awards were given to Qinghao Chen of Exeter, NH; Daniel J. Crawford of Newark, DE; Andrew B. Greytak of Newton, MA; and Krzystof J. Rybak of Racine, WI, for outstanding research in chemistry.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 31, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News