Skip to content ↓

Awards & Honors


��������� James G. Fox, DVM, a professor in the Division of Bioengineering and Environmental Health and director of the Division of Comparative Medicine, has received the Nathan R. Brewer Scientific Achievement Award from the American Association of Laboratory Animal Science. The organization noted that Professor Fox's lab is largely responsible for identifying, naming and describing many of the diseases attributed to various Helicobacter species, most notably the association of Helicobacter hepaticus with development of liver tumors in mice.

��������� Professor Eduardo Kausel of civil and environmental engineering has been elected to receive a Humboldt Research Award for Senior US Scientists from the Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung. The award will allow him an extended research stay at a German research institution.

��������� The American Mathematical Society has bestowed awards on two MIT mathematics faculty members. Institute Professor Isadore M. Singer has won the Leroy P. Steel Award for Lifetime Achievement. The award says Professor Singer's groundbreaking papers on the Atiyah-Singer Index theorem "are among the great classics of global analysis. They have spawned many developments in differential geometry, differential topology and analysis." It also recognizes his efforts to bring together mathematicians and theoretical physicists.

Professor Aise Johan de Jong has won the 2000 Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra, in recognition of his "important work on the resolution of singularities by generically finite maps."

��������� Professor of Literature and Women's Studies Ruth Perry has been elected as this year's president of the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies, a national interdisciplinary association of scholars. Professor Perry, the founding director of the Program in Women's Studies, writes about 18-century English literature and culture, and about the influence of gender on the production of art. The working title of her current project is Novel Relations: A History of the Novel and the Family in English Society, 1750-1810.

��������� Frank P. Davidson, a System Dynamics Group retiree and now program coordinator in the Macroengineering Research Group, has been appointed a Chevalier of the French Legion of Honor by the President of the French Republic. Dr. Davidson was recognized for his role as American founder of the Channel Tunnel Study Group and for his World War II military service in Normandy with the 10th Canadian Armoured regiment. Professor Ernst G. Frankel edited a festschrift in honor of Dr. Davidson upon his retirement in 1998.

��������� The Program in Atmospheres, Oceans and Climate presented its Rossby Award for most outstanding thesis in 1998-99 to Dr. Gerard Hugh Roe (PhD 1999) for his thesis titled "Wobbly Winds in an Ice Age: The Mutual Interaction Between the Great Continental Ice Sheets and Atmospheric Stationary Waves." His thesis advisor was Professor Richard Lindzen of earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences.

��������� The American Society of Mechanical Engineers has bestowed awards on Professor John B. Heywood and Associate Professor Kamal Youcef-Toumi. Professor Heywood, the Sun Jae Professor of Mechanical Engineering and director of the Sloan Automotive Laboratory, received the Soichiro Honda Medal, given for contributions in personal transportation. He was recognized "for pioneering contributions in the field of internal combustion engines, particularly emissions control, and distinguished leadership at the largest university-based automotive laboratory in the United States." Professor Youcef-Toumi received the 1998 Best Paper Award for the Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement and Control.

��������� Two MIT students have been recognized for their athletic and academic accomplishments. Burger King Corp. has donated $10,000 to MIT's general scholarship fund in the name of Nikolas Kozy, whom the company named as a Division III College Football Scholar Athlete. Mr. Kozy, a senior in chemical engineering, has maintained a 4.4 GPA while playing defensive end for MIT. Also recognized was Alarice Huang, a senior in biology who was selected to the GTE 1999-00 Academic All-America Volleyball Third Team.

��������� Maija K. Ahlquist, assistant director of the Center for Cancer Research, recently received the School of Science Distinguished Service Award, honoring her 32 years of service to the CCR and the Department of Biology, in recognition of her "significant contributions to administration, always carried out with great humor and insight." The award, established in 1993, was last presented in 1995 to then-Provost Mark S. Wrighton.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 9, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News