Skip to content ↓

Eight MIT faculty and staff named Fellows of AAAS

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 283 members, including eight MIT faculty and staff members.

Fellows are recognized for their efforts advancing science or fostering applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold-and-blue rosette pin (representing science and engineering) on February 19 during the 2000 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, DC.

New MIT Fellows include:

Michael W. Golay, professor of nuclear engineering, for outstanding contributions to nuclear power in education, safety, economics, regulation and management and for leadership in the debate over its proper role.

Richard P. Binzel, professor of earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences (EAPS), for outstanding contributions to understanding the origin and evolution of the planetary system, especially the role or asteroids and comets.

Frederick D. Greene, professor emeritus of chemistry, for fundamental studies of mechanisms of organic chemistry and for service to the scientific community through exemplary editorial work.

Heidi B. Hammel, until recently a principal research scientist in EAPS, for distinguished contributions to studies of the outer planets and their moons, as well as leadership of Hubble Space Telescope observations of the spectacular collision of comet Shoemaker-Levy 9 and descriptions of the event and the research to the general public.

Gordon M. Kaufman, professor in the Sloan School of Management, for seminal contributions to statistical modeling of processes of gas and oil exploration, for important contributions to Bayesian statistical science and for service to the profession.

Edward A. Boyle, professor of EAPS, for several major contributions to chemical and paleo-oceanography on time scales from decades to hundreds of thousands of years.

Lawrence M. Lidsky, professor of nuclear engineering, for outstanding contributions to both nuclear fission and fusion in education, research, system design and analysis, technical publications and federal policy.

Boyce Rensberger, director of the Knight Science Journalism Fellowships, for outstanding contributions to public understanding of science that include newspapers, magazines, books and television, especially for innovative approaches to presenting science to general audiences.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on December 8, 1999.

Related Topics

More MIT News