Skip to content ↓

NAE elects five from MIT

Five MIT researchers have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). They are Professors Edward F. Crawley and John B. Heywood, Professors Emeriti James A. Fay and Jerome H. Saltzer, and Dr. D. Bruce Montgomery, who retired from MIT in 1996.

NAE membership honors those who have made "important contributions to engineering theory and practice, including significant contributions to the literature of engineering theory and practice," and those who have demonstrated "unusual accomplishment in the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology."

Dr. Crawley, professor of aeronautics and astronautics and head of his department, was cited for contributions to "control-structure interaction and its applications on Earth and in space, and to the international space program."

Professor Crawley joined the MIT faculty as an assistant professor in 1980. He became an associate professor in 1984 and full professor in 1990. In 1992 he was named a Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow, and in 1996 became head of the department. Professor Craw-ley received the SB (1976), SM (1978) and ScD (1980) from MIT.

Professor Heywood is the Sun Jae Professor of Mechanical Engineering and director of the Sloan Automotive Laboratory. He was cited for the "prediction of emissions and efficiencies of spark-ignition engines and contributions to national policies on motor emissions."

He came to MIT in 1968 as an assistant professor, and was promoted to associate professor in 1970 and full professor in 1976. He was co-director of the Leaders for Manufacturing Program from 1991-93, and has been director of the Sloan Automotive Laboratory since 1972. Professor Heywood received the BA from Cambridge University in 1960, and the SM (1962) and PhD (1965) from MIT.

Professor Emeritus Fay is a senior lecturer in mechanical engineering. He was cited for "contributions to fluid and plasma dynamics, combustion, environmental technology, and the recent creation of the first hypermedia fluid mechanics text." His most recent research activities have concentrated on air and water pollution. For example, he has explored the dispersion of air pollutants in the atmosphere and the spread of oil on the ocean.

He has been an MIT faculty member since 1955. He received the BS from Webb Institute of Naval Architecture in 1944, the SM from MIT in 1947, and the PhD from Cornell University in 1951.

Professor Emeritus Saltzer, a senior lecturer in electrical engineering and computer science, was cited for "computer operating systems." His most recent research activities have involved designing a token-passing ring local area network, networking of personal computers, and designing the electronic library of the future. He was named an MIT assistant professor in 1966, associate professor in 1970 and professor in 1976. Professor Saltzer received the SB (1961), SM (1963) and ScD (1966) from MIT.

Dr. Montgomery was cited for "the development, design and construction of high-magnetic-field devices for conventional and superconducting applications." He began his MIT affiliation in 1959 as a Lincoln Laboratory staff member and subsequently held positions at the Francis Bitter National Magnet Laboratory (where he was an associate director), the Plasma Fusion Center (where he was also an associate director) and the Department of Nuclear Engineering.

Dr. Montgomery is now president of MTechnology Inc. in Wayland. He received the AB in physics from Williams College and the SB and SM (all in 1957) in electrical engineering from MIT, and the DSc (1967) from the University of Lausanne.

This year the NAE elected 84 American engineers and seven foreign associates, bringing its total US membership to 1,941 and the number of foreign associates to 155.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 25, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News