Skip to content ↓

NAS elects 3 faculty, 4 alumni

Three MIT faculty members are among the 60 new members elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Also elected were four MIT alumni.

The faculty members are Alexander M. Klibanov, professor of chemistry, and Richard P. Stanley and Daniel W. Stroock, professors of mathematics.

The NAS was established by Congress in 1863 to act as an official advisor to the federal government in matters of science and technology. Election to membership is considered to be one of the highest honors accorded to scientists.

The election brings to 102 the number of MIT faculty members in the NAS.

MIT alumni elected were:

University of California, Berkeley, Professor David Chandler '66; Cornell University Professor Watt W. Webb '47; University of Colorado, Boulder, Professor Carl E. Wieman '73, and City University of New York Professor Emeritus Eric R. Wolf '69.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 10, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News