Skip to content ↓

Fraternities win regional, national recognition

MIT won accolades at the annual meeting of the Northeast Panhellenic and Interfraternity Conferences. The MIT Interfraternity Conference was cited for the best educational programming over the last year on subjects including AIDS, sexual awareness, risk management, alcohol awareness, diversity and crime prevention. Prashant Doshi, a senior in chemical engineering from Edison, NJ, was recognized as the Man of the Year, having been the only person ever to serve two terms as president of MIT's IFC. Neal Dorow, assistant dean for residence and campus activities, was cited as the Outstanding Advisor for his support in revitalizing the IFC in a number of areas including educational programming, risk management and public relations.

The Beta Nu chapter of Delta Tau Delta fraternity was one of three nationwide to receive the Court of Honor Award from its national organization. Criteria in making the award include academic excellence, community citizenship and strong internal organization.

Two members of MIT's Omicron chapter of Phi Sigma Kappa fraternity have won academic honors from the fraternity. Mohan Gurunathan, a sophomore in electrical engineering and computer science from Paramus, NJ, was selected as the most outstanding undergraduate scholar and recipient of the the 1995 Wenderoth Undergraduate Scholarship. David H. Spielvogel, a senior in mathematics from Honolulu, was a winner of the Terrill Graduate Fellowship for 1955.


Living groups receive MIT kudos

Two fraternities, a sorority and two students won recognition at the Awards Convocation this year as recipients of four different Interfraternity Council awards.

The Frederick Gardiner Fassett, Jr. Award is presented annually to the male and female members of the IFC who "have unselfishly demonstrated the qualities of spirit, dedication and service in furthering the ideals of MIT fraternity brotherhood and sisterhood." Recipients this year were Daniel J. Dunn, a senior in mechanical engineering from Cambridge, and Alison L. Walters, a junior in management from Port Charlotte, FL. Mr. Dunn, a member of Alpha Delta Phi, was credited with "revitalizing the IFC judicial committee. establishing [its] ability to effectively and fairly govern itself," said IFC President Brian Dye, a junior in chemical engineering. Ms. Walters, a member of Sigma Kappa, has been IFC rush chair and Greek Week chair and helped create the IFC home page on the World Wide Web.

The James R. Killian, Jr. Community Service Award was presented to Chi Phi, a house of 38 members of whom 17 participated in CityDays and 25 in LINKS, while others helped with a Museum of Science trip and an Earth Day carnival.

The Order of Omega New Member Education Award went to Sigma Chi for its efforts to instill high ideals in its new members.

The Reid Weeden '41 Award for Most Significant Improvement to MIT Education went to a sorority for the first time-Alpha Phi. The group was recognized for its improved alumnae relations in hosting a reunion and establishing a series of annual alumnae newsletters.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 7, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News