Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors

Among the newest Distinguished Visiting Lecturers at the National Foreign Affairs Training Center is Professor Emeritus Lincoln P. Bloomfield of political science. He was recently named to the post by the Foreign Service Institute of the Department of State in recognition of contributions he has made over the years to its training programs. Dr. Bloomfield is now a senior staff member at the Center for International Studies where he specializes in international conflict and governance.

Professor Laurence R. Young of the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics has received the Paul T. Hansen Award from the Aerospace Human Factors Association. The award was presented for significant contributions to human factors research in the aerospace environment. Since the late 1960s, Professor Young has been a leader in research into space motion sickness, working through the Man-Vehicle Laboratory, which he headed for many years. In 1993 he was the alternate payload specialist and ground communicator for Spacelab.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 7, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News