Skip to content ↓

Space Station Panel named

Two MIT faculty members and a former astronaut who is an MIT alumnus are among the 16 people named to serve on the Space Station Design Review Panel headed by MIT President Charles M. Vest.

Professor Edward F. Crawley of the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, an expert on the construction and control of space vehicles, and Professor Emeritus Robert C. Seamans, former dean of the MIT School of Engineering and former NASA deputy administrator, are the faculty members on the panel.

The alumnus-astronaut is Frederick H. Hauck (SM nuclear engineering 1966), chief executive officer of International Technical Underwriters. He commanded the first shuttle flight following the Challenger disaster and flew on two other shuttle missions.

Vice President Al Gore appointed Dr. Vest to head the review "to bring national space policy goals within budget constraints." NASA officials presented Dr. Vest with a pool of prospective members and the MIT president selected 16 from that group, representing government, industry and academe.

Dr. Vest said the panel is a "diverse group of experts that, I believe, will bring the appropriate measures of insight, integrity and objectivity to this critical task."

Other panel members are:

Dr. Bobby Alford, executive vice president and dean of medicine, Baylor College of Medicine; Jay Chabrow, president, JMR Associates; Dr. Paul Chu, director, Texas Center for Superconductivity, University of Houston; Dr. John Fabian, president and chief executive officer, ANSER; Maj. Gen. James Fain, deputy chief of staff for requirements, Air Force Materials Command; Dr. Edward Fort, chancellor, North Carolina A&T State University; Dr. Mary Good, senior vice president of technology, Allied Signal, Inc.; Dr. Lou Lanzerotti, chairman, Space Sciences Board, National Research Council; William Lilly, National Academy of Public Administration; Duane McRuer, president, Systems Technology, Inc.; Dr. Brad Parkinson (MIT 1961), professor of aeronautics and astronautics, Stanford University; Dr. Lee Silver, W. M. Keck Foundation Professor of Geology, California Institute of Technology; and Dr. Albert "Bud" Wheelon (MIT 1952), retired chief executive officer, Hughes Aircraft.

A version of this article appeared in the April 7, 1993 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 37, Number 28).

Related Topics

More MIT News