Skip to content ↓

2 faculty, 5 alumni elected to IOM ranks

The Institute of Medicine recently announced the election of 50 new members, two of whom are MIT faculty members. Five of the new members are MIT alumni/ae, including one of the faculty members.

The faculty members are: Stephen J. Lippard, Arthur Amos Noyes Professor of Chemistry and MIT PhD '65, and Vernon R. Young, professor of nutritional biochemistry in the School of Science.

The alumni/ae elected are: Dr. Drew E. Altman of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, Professor Elias J. Corey, Jr., of Harvard University, Dr. Florence P. Haseltine of the National Institutes of Health, and Dr. David A. Kessler of the Food and Drug Administration.

New members of the Institute of Medicine are elected by present active members for major contributions to health and medicine, or to such related fields as social and behavioral sciences, law, administration, and economics. The Institute's charter requires that at least one-fourth of the members be drawn from other than the health professions.

With their election, members make a commitment to devote a significant amount of volunteer time on committees engaged in a broad range of studies on health policy issues. Current Institute projects include the identification of measures to strengthen US dental education, and the issues and implications of tests used to detect genetic disorders.

This election increases the number of MIT faculty in the Institute of Medicine to 17.

A version of this article appeared in the June 2, 1993 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 37, Number 35).

Related Topics

More MIT News