Skip to content ↓

John Lienhard wins 2015 ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award

Lienhard becomes the sixth MechE faculty member to receive the prestigious ASME award.
Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

Alissa Mallinson
Phone: 617-258-7511
Department of Mechanical Engineering
John Lienhard
John Lienhard
Photo: David Sella

Professor John H. Lienhard V of the MIT Department of Mechanical Engineering (MechE) has been awarded the prestigious 2015 American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Heat Transfer Memorial Award in the “art of practice category” for “outstanding contributions in technology development of thermally driven desalination and temperature control of electronic test equipment; and in fundamental studies of liquid jet impingement cooling, Rayleigh-Bénard instability, thermal stratified turbulence and extremely high heat flux heat transfer.”

The Heat Transfer Memorial Award was established by ASME in 1959. It is bestowed on individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of heat transfer through teaching, research, practice and design, or a combination of such activities.

Several faculty at MIT have received the award since it was first established, including the late Professor Warren M. Rohsenow (1967), Professor Emeritus Peter Griffith (1975), Professor Emeritus Borivoje B. Mikić (1989), Professor Leon R. Glicksman (2008), and Professor Gang Chen (2008), the head of MechE. In addition, Lienhard’s father, John H. Lienhard IV, received this award in 1980. 

Related Links

Related Topics

Related Articles

More MIT News