Skip to content ↓

Daniel Kleppner named a 2014 Franklin Institute Award laureate

Emeritus professor honored for contributions in quantum phenomena.
Daniel Kleppner, the Lester Wolfe Professor Emeritus of Physics at MIT, has been awarded the Franklin Institute’s 2014 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics.

According to the award citation, Kleppner is being honored “for many pioneering contributions to discoveries of novel quantum phenomena involving the interaction of atoms with electromagnetic fields and the behavior of atoms at ultra-low temperatures.”

Kleppner, who is one of nine laureates chosen this year, is also the recipient of the 2006 National Medal of Science and the 2005 Wolf Prize, both awarded for his groundbreaking work in atomic physics.

The Franklin Institute in Philadelphia, a center of science education and development, was founded in 1824 to honor Benjamin Franklin and recognizes global breakthroughs in science, technology, and business leadership. Each year, the Franklin Institute’s awards honor “individuals whose great innovation has benefited humanity, advanced science, launched new fields of inquiry, and deepened our understanding of the universe.” The Franklin Institute will host an awards ceremony to celebrate the laureates in April 2014.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News