Skip to content ↓

MIT Sloan faculty and staff honored

The following is a round-up of recent awards for MIT Sloan School of Management faculty and staff.

Assistant Professor of System Dynamics Damon Centola was awarded the 2011 prize for Best Article by the Mathematical Sociology Section of the American Sociological Association (ASA). The winning paper, published in the Sept. 3, 2010, issue of Science, is titled “The Spread of Behavior in an Online Social Network Experiment.”

W. Maurice Young (1961) Career Development Professor of Management and Associate Professor of Management Emilio Castilla (along with co-author Stephen Benard of Indiana University Bloomington) was awarded the 2011 prize for Outstanding Publication in Organizational Behavior (OB) by the Organizational Behavior Division of the Academy of Management (AOM). The award recognizes the 2010 publication that makes the most significant contribution to the advancement of the field of OB. The winning paper, published in the December 2010 issue of Administrative Science Quarterly, is titled “The Paradox of Meritocracy in Organizations.”

Reining Chen, assistant professor of accounting, won the American Accounting Association (AAA) 2010 Financial Accounting and Reporting Section (FARS) Best Dissertation Award for her dissertation titled, “Regulation Fair Disclosure and Capital Structure.”

Class of 1948 Career Development Professor and Associate Professor of Marketing Juanjuan Zhang has won the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) 2010 Frank M. Bass Dissertation Paper Award for “The Sound of Silence: Observational Learning in the U.S. Kidney Market.” The paper was published in the March-April 2010 issue of Marketing Science. Juanjuan’s paper was also a finalist for the INFORMS 2010 John D. C. Little Award. The Frank M. Bass Dissertation Paper Award recognizes the best marketing paper derived from a PhD thesis published in an INFORMS-sponsored journal. The John D. C. Little Award honors the best marketing paper published in Marketing Science or Management Science.

Andreas Schulz, the Patrick J. McGovern (1959) professor of management and professor of operations research, received the Humboldt Research Award, granted by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in recognition of a researcher’s entire achievements to date. The award honors Schulz’s work in discrete optimization, which cuts across a variety of disciplines, including applied mathematics, theoretical computer science, and operations research. It also honors his “path-breaking contributions to the theory of scheduling, to the computational complexity of combinatorial optimization, to the geometry of 0/1-polytopes, to the theory of network flows, and to the field of algorithmic game theory.”

Senior Associate Dean Alan White received a Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of service to the International University Consortium for Executive Education (UNICON), an organization of leading business schools with a commitment to management, executive education and development. In particular, White was cited for hosting the organizational meeting at MIT at which UNICON was founded in 1972. UNICON now includes more than 100 universities around the world.

Peter Reynolds, research scientist at the MIT Center for Information Systems Research (CISR), won the 2010 ACM SIGMIS (Special Interest Group on Management Information Systems) Doctoral Dissertation Award. His thesis, titled “The Alignment of Business and IT Strategy in Multi-Business Organisations,” was completed at the University of New South Wales in Australia. The award was presented last December in St. Louis, Mo., at the International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS) 2010, the annual meeting of the Association of Information Systems (AIS).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News