Skip to content ↓

School of Engineering honors staff with Infinite Mile Awards

11th annual ceremony recognizes outstanding employee contributions.
The MIT School of Engineering hosted its 11th annual Infinite Mile Awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 25, to recognize and reward members of the school's administrative, support, service and sponsored research staff. The awards reinforce the Institute's and the school's objectives for excellence.

Since their inception in 2001, the School of Engineering's Infinite Mile Awards have been presented to more than 150 staff members. Nominations are made by department heads and laboratory directors, and awards are presented to individuals and teams whose work is of the highest quality — who stand out because of their level of commitment, energy and enthusiasm.

This year, Sheila Frankel and Angela Mickunas were recipients of the Infinite Mile Award for Sustained Excellence due to their quality of work and commitment, in addition to having worked at the Institute for 20 years or more.

Along with Frankel and Mickunas, other recipients of Infinite Mile Awards for Excellence were Jennifer Donovan, Leigh Estabrooks, Richard Lay, Robin Lemp and Colleen Russell.

The Infinite Mile Awards for Team Diversity and Community went to the Chemical Engineering ACCESS Team/Student Office, which includes Suzanne Maguire, Katie Lewis and Fran Miles.

The Infinite Mile Awards for Team Excellence went to the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory TIG Infrastructure Team: John Beane, Jason Dorfman, Arthur Prokosch, Jon Proulx, Eric Schwartz, Jay Sekora and Garrett Wollman.

In addition to the Infinite Mile Awards, the School of Engineering also bestows the Ellen J. Mandigo Award for Outstanding Service, which was established in 2009 to recognize staff who have demonstrated, over an extended period of time, the qualities Mandigo valued and possessed during her long career at MIT: intelligence, skill, hard work and dedication to the Institute. This award is made possible by a bequest from Mandigo, a member of the engineering community at MIT for nearly five decades, who passed away in 2005. The 2011 recipients of this award were Su Chung and Anita Kafka.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News