Skip to content ↓

30 Engineers named Academic All-Conference

The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) has announced the Academic All-Conference teams for the winter season of the 2010-11 academic year. The MIT swimming and diving and basketball teams have had 30 players tabbed for Academic-All Conference honors.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2010 spring semester, achieved a second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

Winter sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are men’s and women’s swimming and diving and men’s and women’s basketball. The Engineers had 10 student-athletes from each of their swimming and diving squads honored. Four men’s basketball players were also eligible for Academic All-Conference, as were six members of the women’s basketball team.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, Worcester Polytechnic Institute and MIT.

MIT’s 30 honorees were far and away the most of any school in the conference. WPI had 17 students named to NEWMAC’s Academic All Conference, followed by Clark with 15 and Springfield with 13. Smith and Mount Holyoke each saw nine students receive the honor, while seven student-athletes from Babson were also recognized. Wellesley and Coast Guard each had eight student-athletes eligible for Academic All-Conference recognition.

See the full list of this winter's MIT Academic All-Conference honorees

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News