4 from MIT win DARPA Young Faculty Awards

Goal of awards is to encourage research and professional growth in DoD-related areas.

Four MIT faculty members are among the 33 researchers that the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) selected this year as winners of its Young Faculty Award.

The MIT winners are Ramesh Raskar of the MIT Media Lab; Kripa Varanasi of the Department of Mechanical Engineering; Dana Weinstein of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; and Martin Zwierlein of the Department of Physics.

The YFA program combines funding and mentoring to promote both DoD-related research and professional growth for rising faculty stars. Each recipient receives a two-year research grant of approximately $300,000.

Topics: Awards, honors and fellowships, Faculty, Research

Back to the top