Skip to content ↓

Six junior faculty named Sloan Research Fellows

Six junior MIT faculty, including three from the Department of Physics, have won 2009 Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellows, intended to enhance the careers of the very best young faculty members in specified fields of science.

MIT faculty among this year's Sloan Research Fellows are Scott Aaronson of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Pablo Jarillo-Herrero of the Department of Physics; Guido Lorenzoni of the Department of Economics; John McGreevy of the Department of Physics; Ramesh Raskar of the MIT Media Lab; and Robert Simcoe of the Department of Physics.

The fellowships were established in 1955 to provide support and recognition to early-career scientists and scholars, often in their first appointments to university faculties, who were endeavoring to set up laboratories and establish their independent research projects with little or no outside support. Financial assistance at this crucial point, even in modest amounts, often pays handsome dividends later to society.

"The Sloan Research Fellowships support the work of exceptional young researchers early in their academic careers, and often at pivotal stages in their work," said Paul L. Joskow, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and the Elizabeth and James Killian (1926) Professor of Economics and Management at MIT. "I am proud of the Foundation's rich history in providing the resources and flexibility necessary for young researchers to enhance their scholarship, and I look forward to the future achievements of the 2009 Sloan Research Fellows."

MIT tied with Harvard for second place in the list of institutions whose faculty received the most fellowships this year. The University of California at Berkeley had seven fellows.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 25, 2009 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News