Skip to content ↓

Student Activities Office awards

Philanthropy Award--Presented to a group or individual that coordinated a philanthropy effort or event that raised awareness and funds for a particular charity
- Karina Pikhart '09

Strength & Conviction Award--Presented to a student who labored on behalf of a student group, living group or governmental organization to overcome longstanding or unforeseen challenges while showing dedication to his or her organization and campus life at MIT
-Ben Moss G

Legacy Award--Presented to a member of a living group or student organization for making a sustained and outstanding contribution to the MIT community
- Tina Srivastava '09
- Shan Wu G

Outstanding Event Award--Presented to a student organization or living group for their efforts to plan and implement an event or series of events that are well-run, advertised, attracted broad participation from within the MIT community and contributed to student life at MIT
- Imobilare (Breakonomics)
- African Students Association (Cultural Night)
- China Development Initiative (Technology and Entrepreneurship Conference)

Common Ground Award--Presented for noteworthy collaboration and partnership between student organizations, living groups and/or governmental groups to produce a program or event or to address a campus need
- Association of Puerto Rican Students, Casino Rueda, Colombian Association, La Unión Chicana por Aztlán, Latino Cultural Center, Mariachi Internacional del Technologico, Mexican Students' Association, Mujeres Latinas, Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers, Society of Mexican American Engineers and Scientists, and Teatro Latino for their work on the Cena a las Seis (Dinner at Six) event

Distinguished Dedication Award--Presented to up to two undergraduates and two graduate students who went "above and beyond" his or her call of duty as student leader and who showed dedication to his or her organization and campus life at MIT
- Polina Bakhteiarov '10
- Nan Gu G
- Vrajesh Modi '11
- Patricio Ramirez Munoz G
- Dayan Paez G

Perspectives Award--Presented to a student or student organization who has demonstrated a strong commitment to diversity education and cultural celebration
- Chinese Student and Scholar Association
- Sidney-Pacific Executive Council

Larry G. Benedict Leadership Award--Presented to a student or student organization who has empowered fellow students to develop as leaders
- Four Consulting
- Keone Hon '11

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 2009 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News