Skip to content ↓

Chemistry awards

Alpha Chi Sigma--For distinguished scholastic achievement, originality and breadth of interest in chemistry
- Annelise R. Beck '09, Minnetrista, Minn.
- Stephen D. Fried '09, Leawood, Kan.
- Veena Venkatachalam '09, Berkeley Heights, N.J.

Chemistry Research Award--For outstanding contributions in the area of research
- Koyel Bhattacharyya '09, Rockville, Md.
- Shanying Cui, San Diego, Calif.
- Kyrstin L. Fornace '09, Bethesda, Md.
- Christopher J. Love '09, Atlantis, Fla.
- Thomas F. Martinez '09, Sunland, Calif.
- Sarah J. Smith '09, Whitesboro, N.Y.
- Yunji Wu '09, Iowa City, Iowa

Research & Teaching Award--For outstanding contributions in the areas of research and teaching to the department
- Sarah Campbell Proehl '09, Pleasantville, N.Y.

Merck Index Awards--For outstanding scholarship
- Tamara R. Litwin, Round Rock, Texas
- Elise G. Liu '09, Auburn, Ala.
- WenHui Tan '09, Henderson, Nev.
- Alexandra P. Tcaciuc '09, Bucharest, Romania

Hypercube Scholar Award--In recognition of outstanding contributions in the advancement of computational chemistry
- Jongjin B. Kim '09, Pittsburgh, Pa.

ACS Analytical Chemistry Award--For achievement by a junior in analytical chemistry
- Sidney E. Creutz '10, Earlysville, Va.

Sophomore Achievement Award--For outstanding performance as a sophomore in academics, research and service to the department
- Jonathon T. Gunn '11,
- St. Charles, Mo.

CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award--For outstanding academic achievement in chemistry
- Daniel S. Levine '12, Succasunna, N.J.

Strem Award--In recognition of the best undergraduate research presentation
- Annelise R. Beck '09, Minnetrista, Minn.

Association of MIT Alumnae Senior Academic Award Winner
- Annelise R. Beck '09, Minnetrista, Minn.

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship--Outstanding undergraduate college student pursuing a career in the fields of science, math or engineering
- Sidney E. Creutz '10, Earlysville, Va.

Earll M. Murman Award--For excellence in Undergraduate Advising
- Professor Robert W. Field

Frederick D. Greene Teaching Award
- Paul D. Boudreau '09, Cambridge, Mass.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 2009 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

The book cover has bright yellow lights like fireflies, and says, “The Transcendent Brain: Spirituality in the Age of Science; Alan Lightman, best-selling author of Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine.” On the right is a portrait of Alan Lightman.

Minds wide open

Alan Lightman’s new book asks how a sense of transcendence can exist in brains made of atoms, molecules, and neurons.

Read full story