Skip to content ↓

Arts, sciences fellows named

Eight MIT faculty members are among the 212 new fellows recently elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious honorary societies and independent policy research centers.

"For 228 years, the Academy has served the public good by convening leading thinkers and doers from diverse perspectives to examine--and provide practical policy solutions to--the pressing issues of the day," said Academy Chief Executive Officer and William T. Golden Chair Leslie Berlowitz. "I am confident that this distinguished class of new members will continue that tradition."

The academy will welcome this year's new fellows at its annual induction ceremony in October at its Cambridge, Mass., headquarters.

The new MIT fellows are:

  • Tobias Colding, Professor of Mathematics
  • Christopher Cummins, Professor of Chemistry
  • Alan D. Grossman, Praecis Professor of Biology
  • Timothy L. Grove, Professor of Geology
  • Jonathan Gruber, Professor of Economics
  • Klavs F. Jensen, Chemical Engineering department head, Warren K. Lewis Professor of Chemical Engineering and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Marc A. Kastner, Donner Professor of Science; Dean, School of Science
  • Henry I. Smith, Professor of Electrical Engineering

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 7, 2008 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News