Skip to content ↓

Eight MIT faculty named to the AAAS

Eight MIT faculty members will be inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) as part of its new class of 190 fellows and 22 foreign honorary members.

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the academy has elected the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation as fellows and foreign honorary members. They have included such names as George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th.

As an independent policy research center, the AAAS undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems and draws on its distinguished membership to address critical social and intellectual issues through studies, publications, meetings and symposia.

The academy will welcome this year's new class at its annual induction ceremony on Oct. 11 at its Cambridge, Mass., headquarters.

New members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences from MIT are:

  • Tobias Colding, professor of mathematics
  • Christopher Cummins, professor of chemistry
  • Alan D. Grossman, Praecis Professor of Biology
  • Timothy L. Grove, professor of geology
  • Jonathan Gruber, professor of economics
  • Klavs F. Jensen, the Warren K. Lewis Professor and department head of chemical engineering, professor of materials science and enginneering
  • Marc A. Kastner, dean, School of Science; Donner Professor of Science
  • Henry I. Smith, professor of electrical engineering

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on October 22, 2008 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News