Skip to content ↓

Mechanical engineering awards

All students are mechanical engineering majors unless otherwise noted.

Department Service Award--outstanding service to the mechanical engineering department
- Dawn M. Wendell G, Farmington, CT
- Rosalind K. Takata G, Arlington, MA
- Sungyon Lee G, San Francisco, CA
- Nicoli M. Ames G, Kirkland, WA

Carl G. Sontheimer Prize--for creativity and innovation in design
- Mark B. Cote 2007, Sanford, ME
- Mika A. Tomczak 2006, Maplewood, NJ
- Brendan J. Englot 2006, Basking Ridge, NJ

Meredith Kamm Memorial Award--to an outstanding mechanical engineering graduate student
- Sara Hupp G, Unionville, VA

John C. and Elizabeth J. Chato Award for Excellence in Bioengineering
- Brendan A. Harley G, Weston, MA

Padmakar P. Lele Student Award--for outstanding UAs, Course 2.007
- Vivian V. Li 2006, San Gabrie, CA
- Jesse B. Marsh 2007, Millbrae, CA
- Samuel O. Jewell 2007, Boston, MA
- Shutsu K. Chai 2006, Gaithersburg, MD
- Namik K. Yilmaz G, Cambridge, MA

Luis de Florez Award--for outstanding ingenuity and creativity
- Josiah B. Rosmarin 2006, Mansfield, OH
- Alexander H. Slocum, Jr. 2008, Bow, NH

Peter Griffith Prize--for an outstanding experimental project and thesis
- Christopher R. Rhodes 2006, Grosse Ile, MI
- Josef L. Miler 2006, Columbus, OH

Alfred A. H. Keil Ocean Engineering Development Fund Award--for outstanding research
- Evan S. Karlik 2006, Bethesda, MD

AMP Inc. Award--for outstanding performance in Course 2.002
- Batya A. Fellman 2008, San Diego, CA
- Patrick R. Barragan 2007, Los Angeles, CA
- Logan Munro 2007, Cheyenne, WY
- Martin A. Segado 2007, Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

International Design Competition: 2.007 Contest
1st place: Gregory C. Schroll 2008, Chatham, NJ
2nd place: Orian Z. Welling 2008, Custer, WI
3rd place: Gina C. Angelosanto 2008, North Attleboro, MA
4th place: Shane W. Colton 2007, New York, NY

Robert Bruce Wallace Academic Prize--for academic excellence and outstanding potential for professional leadership in ocean engineering
- Nina C. Young 2007, New York, NY

Society of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering Award--for an outstanding undergraduate in the marine field
- Seth E. Clark 2007, Arbor Vitae, WI

Whitelaw Prize--for originality in 2.007 design and contest
- Ilan E. Moyer 2008, Potomac, MD
- Howard Kellogg 2008, Philadelphia, PA

Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Award--for an outstanding mechanical engineering graduate student
- Liang Xue G, Suzhou, Jiangsu Province, China

Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Award--for outstanding performance in Course 2.008
- Sachin Tandon 2007, Boston, MA
- Allan B. Reyes 2007, E. Brunswick, NJ

Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Award--for an outstanding thesis in fluid mechanics
- Randy H. Ewoldt G, Eldridge, IA

Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Award--for an outstanding TA in Course 2.007
- Hongshen Ma G, Delta, BC, Canada

Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Award--for most creative design in the International Design Competition
- Adrianna Hee 2008, Kailua, HI

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 7, 2006 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Music video screenshot showing about 20 rectangular boxes on a black background featuring MIT Syncopasian members singing

A cappella for a cause

MIT Syncopasian’s musical performance features the poem “Things We Carry On The Sea” by Wang Ping and invites Asian members of the MIT community to help celebrate AAPI Heritage Month.

Read full story