Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

Evelyn Fox Keller, professor of history and philosophy of science, has been elected to the American Philosophical Society. The society was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of "promoting useful knowledge." Federal Reserve Chairman Ben S. Bernanke, who earned his Ph.D. at MIT in 1979 and will speak at the June 9 Commencement, is also among this year's inductees.

Three MIT employees have been named Susan Vogt Leadership Fellows. They are Catherine Avril, director of communications for the School of Engineering; Peter Cummings, associate director for financial services in the Office of the Dean of Student Life; and David Weber, director of corporate relations at the MIT Sloan School of Management. They were among 15 fellows chosen by the Boston Consortium to participate in the yearlong fellowship program, which is intended to develop leadership skills.

Margaret Ann Gray, director of organization and employee development in human resources, has been selected by the College and University Professional Association for Human Resources Eastern Region Board to receive the first Successful Practices Award for her implementation of the Leader to Leader Program.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 7, 2006 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News