Skip to content ↓

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science awards

All student award recipients are EECS majors unless otherwise indicated.

Carlton E. Tucker Teaching Award
- Shihab Elborai G, Amman, Jordan

Richard J. Caloggero Award--for dedication and excellent service to the EECS department
- Donna Kaufman, administrative assistant
- Patricia Sampson, administrative assistant

Ruth and Joel Spira Award--for excellence in teaching
- Associate Professor Rahul Sarpeshkar, Arlington, Mass.

Louis D. Smullin Award--to outstanding instructors of EECS core subjects
- Professor Jeffrey H. Lang
- Professor Anant Agarwal

Jerome Saltzer Award--to an outstanding EECS recitation instructor
- Professor Randall Davis

Eta Kapp Nu Underground Guide Excellence in Teaching Award
- Professor Patrick H. Winston

ACM/IEEE Best Academic Advisor Award
- Professor Alan J. Grodzinsky

Edgerton Award--for excellence in teaching
- Assistant Professor Erik Demaine

Harold L. Hazen Teaching Award
- Ashish Khisti G, Toronto, Ontario

Frederick C. Hennie III Teaching Award
- Stephen M. Hou G, West Windsor, N.J.
- Joshua Weaver G, Niceville, Fla.
- David P. Ziegler G, Great Falls, Va.

Department Special Recognition Award
- Kazutaka Takahashi G, aero/astro, Shiga, Japan

Northern Telecom/BNR Project Award--for an outstanding 6.111 laboratory project
- Andrew Leiserson (M.Eng. 2004), Menlo Park, Calif. (spring 2004)
- Amir Hirsch '06, Fairfield, Conn. (spring 2004)
- Robert Cassels '06, Berkshire, England (fall 2004)
- Timothy J. Mamtora '06, Cheshire, England (fall 2004)

George C. Newton Undergraduate Laboratory Prize
- Martijn Stevenson '05, Los Altos, Calif.
- Thomas B. Wilson '05, Portland, Ore.
- Kale D. McNaney '05, Lancaster, N.Y.

Anna Pogosyants UROP Award--for an outstanding computer science UROP project
- Matthew Tschantz G, Euclid, Ohio

Robert A. Fano UROP Award--for the best EECS UROP project
- Yelena Yasinnik '05, mathematics, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Nylander Undergraduate Advanced Project Award
- Zhejuan (Jane) Lu '05, Fairport, N.Y.

David Adler Memorial Thesis Prize--for outstanding master's thesis in electrical engineering
- First prize: Colin Weltin Wu G, Berkeley, Calif.
- Second prize: Emily B. Fox G, Los Angeles, Calif.

Morris Joseph Levin Award--for outstanding Masterworks Oral Thesis presentation
- Asfandyar Qureshi G, Lahore, Pakistan
- Tiferet Levine G, New York, N.Y.
- Jeremy T. Fineman G, Bronxville, N.Y.
- Sara Su G, Bellevue, Wash.
- Jay Kumar Sundararajan G, Chennai Tamil Nadu, India
- Shuodan Chen G, Duluth, Ga.

Ernst A. Guillemin Thesis Award--for an outstanding master's thesis in electrical engineering
- First prize: Keyuan Xu '05, Northborough, Mass.
- Second prize: Anne Dreyer G, Reisterstown, Md., and Alp Simsek G, Antalya, Turkey

Charles and Jennifer Johnson Thesis Prize--for outstanding master's thesis in computer science
- Asfanya Qureshi G, Lahore, Pakistan

William A. Martin Memorial Thesis Prize--for an outstanding master's thesis in computer science
- Michael Bolin G, East Brunswick, N.J.

George M. Sprowls Award--for an outstanding Ph.D. thesis in computer science
- Ramesh Johari (Ph.D. 2004), San Francisco, Calif.
- Emmett Witchel (Ph.D. 2004), Austin, Texas.
- Honorable mention: Wojciech Matusik (Ph.D. 2004), Cambridge, Mass., and Tracey Ho (Ph.D. 2004), Sudbury, Mass.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 1, 2005 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story