Skip to content ↓

Chemistry awards

All students are chemistry majors unless otherwise indicated.

School of Science Dean's Educational and Student Advising Award
- Robert W. Field, the Haslam and Dewey Professor of Chemistry
- Susan Brighton, senior administrative assistant for graduate programs

Alpha Chi Sigma Award--for distinguished scholastic achievement, originality and breadth of interest in chemistry
- Torsak Luanphaisarnnont '05, Bangkok, Thailand

CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award
- Emily Tsui '08, Potomac. Md.

Strem Prize--for excellence in undergraduate research
- Torsak Luanphaisarnnont '05, Bangkok, Thailand

Chemistry Research Award
- Andrew Danford '05, Omaha, Neb.
- Jillian Dempsey '05, Summit, N.J.
- Karen C. O'Brien '05, Claremont, Calif.

Chemistry Service Award
- Stavroula Hatzios '05, Blacksburg, Va.
- Caroline Saouma '05, Boulder, Colo.
- Katherine Wu '05, Mesa, Ariz.

Frederick D. Greene Teaching Award
- Jillian Dempsey '05, Summit, N.J.

Hypercube Scholar Award--for outstanding contributions to the advancement of computers in teaching
- Kendra Bussey '05, Pittsfield, N.Y.

American Institute of Chemists Foundation Award--for outstanding achievement, ability, leadership and character
- Torsak Luanphaisarnnont '05, Bangkok, Thailand

ACS Analytical Chemistry Award--for achievement by a junior in analytical chemistry
- Sarah Mahlstedt '06, Boulder, Colo.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 1, 2005 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Music video screenshot showing about 20 rectangular boxes on a black background featuring MIT Syncopasian members singing

A cappella for a cause

MIT Syncopasian’s musical performance features the poem “Things We Carry On The Sea” by Wang Ping and invites Asian members of the MIT community to help celebrate AAPI Heritage Month.

Read full story