Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

Two graduate students in electrical engineering and computer science have won Microsoft Research Fellowships, awarded by Microsoft Corp. annually. Ce Liu and Adi Akavia are among 12 Fellows for 2006-07 selected from 133 applicants from the United States and Canada. The fellowship pays for tuition and fees and provides a stipend of $20,000, plus a $2,000 travel allowance for attending conferences and a TabletPC preloaded with Microsoft software. In addition, the Fellows will get to interview for a paid summer internship with the company. Scholarships are awarded for two academic years and may be extended up to a maximum of three years.

J. Kim Vandiver, dean for undergraduate research, will receive the Offshore Technology Conference Distinguished Individual Achievement Award for 2005. The award recognizes Vandiver's numerous "technical breakthroughs in the dynamics of vortex-induced vibrations that have enhanced the design of structures to withstand high ocean currents, enabling the offshore energy industry to produce oil and gas in progressively deeper water." He will receive the award at a ceremony in Houston on May 3.

Dr. David J. Perreault, the Emanuel E. Landsman Career Development Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, will receive the 2005 Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award at the Society of Automotive Engineers International's 2005 World Congress in Detroit on April 12. The Teetor award annually recognizes outstanding engineering educators and gives them an opportunity to become acquainted with the automotive and aerospace industries.

Stephen Buchwald, the Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry, was honored at the American Chemical Society National Meeting on March 14 as the author of the greatest number of requested articles in 2004 by CAS' Science Spotlight service.

CAS Science Spotlight is a free web service that identifies the most cited chemistry-related research publications as reflected by the more than 100 million citations found in the journals, patents, conference proceedings and other sources covered by CAS.

MIT Libraries Director Ann Wolpert has been chosen to receive the Simmons Graduate School of Library and Information Science (GSLIS) 2005 Alumni Achievement Award. The award is presented annually to a GSLIS graduate with demonstrated achievement in the library/information profession--in particular, excellence and influence that exceeds the boundary of his or her current position. The award committee chose Wolpert because she "exemplifies all of the qualifications of someone deserving the award and has helped and motivated many others in her profession." This year's award will be presented at Simmons' Alumni and Professional Development Day on April 1.

Senior John Velasco has been chosen to receive a Howard R. Swearer Student Humanitarian Award from Campus Compact, a national organization that supports community service in higher education. Velasco, who was nominated by President Susan Hockfield, is being honored for his iMath program, which he developed to help eighth-graders understand math via the Internet. Velasco will receive $1,500 for iMath. The award will be presented at a ceremony in Portland, Ore., in April.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 30, 2005 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News