Skip to content ↓

Three faculty named to TR100

Three MIT faculty members and 20 MIT affiliates are among the TR100, the list of top young innovators in technology named annually by Technology Review. The TR100 will be honored by the magazine next week at its Emerging Technologies Conference in Kresge Auditorium Sept. 29-30.

Vladimir Bulovic, associate professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and Martin Culpepper, assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, made the list in the Nanotech category; Darrell Irvine, assistant professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, was named in the Materials category.

They are among 100 researchers under age 35 from around the world whose work "is transforming the nature of such fields as biotechnology, computing and nanotechnology," according to Technology Review. The researchers are named in the magazine's October issue.

Keynote speakers at next week's conference will include Tim Berners-Lee, director of the World Wide Web Consortium; Bob Metcalfe, founder, 3Com Corp.; and Michael Hawley, director of special projects at MIT.

Discussions on the first day will focus on getting technology from the lab to the market, with breakout sessions including "Nanotech and Energy," "The Era of Synthetic Biology" and "The Technology Jobs Drain."

Discussions the second day will focus on "Emerging Technologies That Will Change the World: The Innovator View." Speakers will include Steve Wozniak, co-founder of Apple Computer, and J. Craig Venter, president, The Center for the Advancement of Genomics. Breakout session topics will be "WhereWare--the Revolution in Location Aware Computing," "Fusion Biometrics," "What Drives Invention?" and "Robots of Augmentation."

Among the MIT alumni appearing on the list are Vadim Backman, Marcel Bruchez, Mayank Bulsara, Robert Frederick, Dan Gruhl, Ravi Kane, Gloria Kolb, Vikram Kumar, Golan Levin, Wojciech Matusik, Nuria Oliver, Sokowoo Rhee, William Taylor and Smruti Vidwans.

In addition, five people listed on the TR100 did postdoctoral research at MIT. They are Joerg Lahann, Frank Lyco, Tyler McQuade, Molly Stevens and Kahp-Yang Suh.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on September 22, 2004 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News