Skip to content ↓

Voter registration available on campus

All those who consider Cambridge to be their primary residence, including MIT students, are eligible to vote in the Nov. 4 proportional election of Cambridge City Council and School Committee members.

Registration forms are available on campus at the Public Service Center (Room 4-104) and the Office of Government and Community Relations (Room 11-245) as well as the city's Election Commission at 51 Inman St., post offices and public libraries. Completed forms left at the two MIT offices will be forwarded to the Cambridge Election Commission.

Only original forms on card stock are accepted. Completed voter registration forms must be postmarked or delivered to the Cambridge Election Commission by Oct. 15.

Three candidates with MIT ties and nine incumbents are among the 20 running for the nine City Council seats. Five of the eight candidates for six School Committee seats are incumbents. Members of the MIT community on the ballot are Matthew S. DeBergalis (S.B. 2000), Aimee L. Smith (Ph.D. 2002) and Daniel J. Greenwood, a lecturer in architecture and planning.

Absentee ballots are available by request from the Cambridge Election Commission at (617) 349-4361.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on October 1, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News