Skip to content ↓

29 named Burchard Scholars

Twenty-nine sophomores and juniors have been selected as Burchard Scholars in the School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences for 2003.

The awards, named after the school's first dean, John Ely Burchard, are given to students who demonstrate unusual abilities and academic excellence in the areas embraced by SHASS.

The Burchard Scholars and a rotating group of faculty will be invited to a series of dinners, beginning in February, at which an MIT faculty member or visiting scholar will present work in progress, followed by a discussion. This will allow students and faculty members to mix and will give students, especially, an opportunity to engage in the kind of intellectual exchange that characterizes scholarship in the humanities, arts and social sciences. The emphasis throughout the program will be interdisciplinary.

The Burchard Scholars are:

Juniors: Lisa Bell, economics and mathematics; Christine Casas and Ashleigh Sanders, biology; Stephanie Chow, Mariko Jameson, Jarudi Izzat, Sarah Poulsen, Kavitha Ramaswamy and Ivana Sturdivant, brain and cognitive sciences (BCS); Russell Haresign and David Seif, economics; Jessica Haurin, earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences; Sean Leonard and Atif Qadir, urban studies and planning; Arthur Musah and Pius Uzamere, electrical engineering and computer science (EECS); Kenneth Nesmith, political science and biology; Olumuyiwa Oni, mechanical engineering; Morgan Sonderegger, physics and mathematics; Stephanie Wang, economics and BCS; Peng Wu, biology and chemistry.

Sophomores: Joelle Brichard, mathematics; Meisha Bynoe, biology; Anna Kuperstein, mathematics and writing; Sheila Krishna, biology and Spanish; Katherine Lin, environmental engineering; Daniel Liston, management; Daniel Stein, EECS and physics; Lillie Werner, political science and science, technology and society.

Related Topics

More MIT News