Skip to content ↓


Search on for IS vice president

The process of finding a new vice president for Information Systems (IS) has begun with the selection of the executive search firm Spencer Stuart, to assist in the nationwide recruitment effort. James D. Bruce, who announced in December that he would retire on June 30, has agreed to stay until a successor is in place.

"I think this is one of the most important positions at the Institute in terms of making it possible for people to do their work effectively and creatively. I look forward to our finding an exceptionally well-qualified person for this role," said Professor Robert P. Redwine, dean for undergraduate education, who chairs the 16-member search advisory committee.

In addition to the IS areas that report to Bruce, the new vice president will be responsible for Financial Systems Services. "Having both FSS and IS report to one vice president is an obvious pairing of units responsible for system development, maintenance and client service," said John R. Curry, executive vice president.

Community members who wish to suggest candidates or comment on the search process may contact Patricia Brady (, who is providing staff support for the committee.

Harvey is new Doherty professor

Charles Harvey, assistant professor in civil and environmental engineering, has been awarded the 2003 Doherty Professorship in Ocean Utilization from the MIT Sea Grant College Program. Harvey specializes in the area of subsurface hydrology and transport processes. His Doherty-funded research will focus on the dynamics of coastal groundwater with the goal of improving the understanding of land-ocean interfaces. The Doherty Fellowship, endowed by the Henry L. and Grace Doherty Charitable Foundation, encourages promising, non-tenured professors to undertake marine-related research that will further innovative uses of the ocean's resources. The program selects one or two new faculty members annually for a supplemental award of $25,000 a year for two years.

Giving campaign raises $378,080

The 2002 Community Giving at MIT Campaign raised $378,080 with contributions from 1,159 employees. Of that total, $273,574 was pledged to the United Way of Massachusetts Bay; $88,313 to the MIT Community Service Fund; and $16,193 to other health and human service agencies. "In these challenging economic and political times, [the MIT community's] generosity demonstrates our collective commitment to support local non-profit programs and agencies that provide essential services to individuals and families in need including children, the disabled, elders, the homeless and victims of domestic violence," said campaign chair Kenneth A. Smith, the Edwin R. Gilliland Professor of Chemical Engineering. Rebecca M. Vest and the Campaign Steering Committee will host a tea at Gray House later this month to recognize the 125 department representatives whose efforts played a major role in the campaign.

E-learning project formed

The Learning International Network Consortium (LINC) has been created to manage projects that aim to bring higher education to developing countries, using distance-learning technologies. Once funded, LINC intends to support activities including web sites to which all LINC members can contribute and from which all can access contributed materials; R&D projects in developing countries on initiatives such as alternative pedagogical models in e-learning; and publications, symposiums and technical assistance. LINC is headed by Professor Richard C. Larson, director of the Center for Advanced Educational Services. For more information, visit

Marching down Broadway

The MIT Police honor guard, which practices at the Black Falcon Terminal in South Boston, will march in the annual St. Patrick's Day Parade in that community on Sunday, March 16. Five of the team's nine members will stride down Broadway, two carrying M1 rifles and the others the flags of the United States, MIT and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The team's members, all volunteers, are officers Bill Smith, Kevin O'Connor, Bennett Chin, Orlando Tirella, Willard Boulter, Jesus Ostolaza, David Sacco, Michael Carey and Robert Molino. The team, formed last spring, is directed by Lt. Daniel Costa.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 5, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News