Skip to content ↓

Ilona Karmel Writing Prizes Competition

Boit Manuscript Prize--Drama

1st prize: Daniel Katz '03 (math and theater arts), Newtown, Penn.
2nd prize: Kaia Dekker '06 (physics), Woodbridge, Va.
Honorable mention: Max Goldman '04 (math), Wellesley, Mass.

Boit Manuscript Prize--Essay

1st prize: Jeffrey D. LeBlanc '03 (math), Acton, Mass.; and Jolene Singh '05 (biology), Fresh Meadows, N.Y.
2nd prize: Margaret Shyr '03 (chemical engineering), Lafayette, La.
Honorable mention: Marissa Raymond '03 (BCS), Albuquerque, N.M.

Boit Manuscript Prize--Poetry

1st prize: Arthur Musah '04 (EECS), Ghana

Dewitt Wallace Prize for Scientific Writing for the Public

1st prize: Nnennia Ejebe '04 (chemical engineering), Plymouth, Minn.
2nd prize: Marissa Raymond

Ellen King Prize for Freshman Writing

1st prize: Kaya Shah '06, architecture and physics, Knoxville, Tenn.
2nd prize: Alma E. Rico '06, EAPS, El Paso, Texas
Honorable mention: Brian Goodness '06 (economics), Kihei, Hawaii; and Ingrid E.B. Lawhorn '06, Peachtree City, Ga.

Writing Science Fiction

1st prize: Wendy Cook '03, humanities and engineering, Las Vegas
2nd prize: Burhanuddin A. Baki '03 (math), Malaysia
Honorable mention: Alison Klesman '03 (physics), Orland Park, Ill.

The Robert A. Boit Writing Prize--Essay

1st prize: Deborah Pan '03 (chemistry), East Brunswick, N.J.
2nd prize: Ruimin He '04 (electrical engineering), Singapore
3rd prize: Amy Fisher '05 (BCS), Manalalpan, N.J.
Honorable mention: Michael Wongchaowart '04 (biology), Hudson, Ohio

The Robert A. Boit Writing Prize--Poetry

1st prize: Daria Lymar '03 electrical engineering, Upton, N.Y.
2nd prize: Sarah Shin '04 (architecture and urban planning), West Orange, N.J.
3rd prize: Anna Kuperstein '05 (writing and math), Columbia, Md.

The Robert A. Boit Writing Prize--Short Story

1st prize: Michelle A. Nadermann '04 (math), Chicago
2nd prize: Arthur Musah
3rd prize: Burhanuddin A. Baki
Honorable mention: Amy Fisher 

S. Klein Prize for Scientific and Technical Writing

1st prize: Sameer Shah '03 (STS and math), Smithtown, N.Y.
2nd prize: Derrick Carpenter '04 (math and computer science), Meriden, Conn.
Honorable mention: Alexis Dieter '03 (BCS), Boulder, Colo. 

Writing and Humanistic Studies Prize for Engineering Writing

1st prize: Luxiou Chen '03 (computer science), Basking Ridge, N.J.
2nd prize: Aadel Chaudhuri '03 (EECS), Salt Lake City; and Ragunath Vijaykumar '03 (EECS), Pittsburgh
Honorable mention: Margaux Daly '03, chemical engineering, Palm City, Fla. 

Vera List Prize for Visual Arts

1st prize: John Wallach '03 (chemistry), Santa Monica, Calif.
2nd prize: Evan Pruitt '05 (architecture), Largo, Fla.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 4, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News