Skip to content ↓

Electrical engineering and computer science awards

All award recipients are majors in electrical engineering and computer science unless otherwise indicated.

Carton E. Tucker Teaching Award

Haixia Lin G, Redwood Shores, Calif.

Harold L. Hazen Teaching Award

Keith R. Santarelli G, Haverill, Mass.

Frederick C. Hennie III Teaching Award

Jeremy Braun G, Rex, Ga.

Wesley Gifford G, Nashua, N.H.

Todd Atkins G, Hampden, Maine

George M. Sprowls Award--for the best Ph.D. thesis in computer science

Martin Wainwright (Ph.D. 2002), Berkeley, Calif.

Venkatesan Guruswami (Ph.D. 2001), Seattle

Morris Joseph Levin Award--for the best MasterWorks oral thesis presentation

Sourav Dey G, Midland, Mich.

Puneet Newaskar G, Singapore

Karen Robinson G, Shawnee, Okla.

Zeeshan Syed G, Karachi, Pakistan

Oktay O. Kuzucu G, Ankara, Turkey

Juan Rivas G, Mexico City

Corey A. Kemper G, Neenah, Wis.

Kristin Grauman G, Charlotte, N.C.

David Adler Memorial Thesis Prize--for the best M.Eng. thesis in electrical engineering

Amy V. Mueller G, Mequon, Wis.

Saumil Gandhi G, Cary, N.C. (honorable mention)

Charles and Jennifer Johnson Thesis Prize--for the best M.Eng. thesis in computer science

Toh Ne Win G, New York

Winston Wang G, Voorheesville, N.Y.

William A. Martin Thesis Prize--for the best M.Eng. thesis in computer science

Max Van Kleek G, Boise, Idaho

Zeeshan Syed G, Karachi, Pakistan

Ernst A. Guillemin Thesis Award--for the best M.Eng. thesis in electrical engineering

Christopher T. Lyon G, Kensington, Calif.

Obrad R. Scepanovic G, San Jose, Calif. (honorable mention)

Nylander Award--for best advanced undergraduate project in EECS

Ilya Baran '03, Newton, Mass.

Kwok Lee Tang '03, Phoenix, Ariz.

George C. Newton Laboratory Prize--for the best 6.111 undergraduate lab project

Katherine Butler '03, Hillsboro, Ore.

Danielle Schumaker '03, Monterey, Calif.

Northern Telecom/BNR Project Award--for best 6.111 lab project in spring 2002

Brian S. Pharris '03, Freeland, Wash.

Daniel Talavera G, San Francisco

Northern Telecom/BNR Project Award--for the best 6.111 lab project in fall 2002

Ravi Raghavan '03, Los Gatos, Calif.

Albert Lin '04, Hsiu-Chu, Taiwan

David A. Chanen Writing Award--for best paper written in 6.033 to satisfy Phase II

Rohit Rao '04, Rochester, N.Y.

Anya Pogosyants UROP Award

Lauren Clement '05, Boxford, Mass.

Ruth and Joel Spira Award

Professor David Perreault

Junior Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching

Professor Rahul Sarpeshkar

Department Head Special Recognition Award

Lilla Zollei G, Szeged, Hungary

Louis D. Smullin (1939) Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Christopher Terman, senior lecturer and acting associate director of the Laboratory for Computer Science

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 4, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News