Skip to content ↓

Thirty new associate professors named

The promotions of 30 assistant professors to the rank of associate professor without tenure were approved by the executive committee of the MIT Corporation. Below are those from the schools of architecture and planning; humanities, arts and social sciences; science; and Sloan. Promotions in the School of Engineering will appear in the May 14 issue. All the promotions take effect July 1.

School of Architecture and Planning
Scott Manalis, media arts and sciences

School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences
Christine J. Walley, anthropology
Guido Kuersteiner, economics
Daniel Fox, linguistics and philosophy
Norvin Richards, linguistics and philosophy
James D. Cain, literature
Jonathan Rodden, political science

School of Science
Michael B. Yaffe, biology
Jianshu Cao, chemistry
Andrei Tokmakoff, chemistry
Martin Z. Bazant, mathematics
Hubert L. Bray, mathematics
Andras Vasy, mathematics
Santosh S. Vempala, mathematics
Amihay Hannay, physics

Sloan School of Management
John M.P. deFigueiredo
Richard M. Frankel
Roberto Rigobon

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 7, 2003.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News