Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

Richard P. Stanley, the Norman Levinson Professor of Mathematics, has won one of three Rolf Schock Prizes "for his fundamental contributions to combinatorics and its relationship to algebra and geometry, in particular for his important contributions to the theory of convex polytopes and his innovative work on enumerative combinatorics." The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Fine Arts and the Royal Swedish Academy of Music have awarded these prizes every other year since 1993. This year's winners received 400,000 Swedish krona apiece (about $52,000).

Ann Graybiel, the Walter A. Rosenblith Professor of Neuroscience in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, has received an honorary doctor of science degree from the Mount Sinai School of Medicine. She was recognized for her "landmark contributions that have led to a new understanding of brain function and in particular the control of motor activity, procedural learning and cognition ... Her discovery of chemical compartments in the striatum of the basal ganglia has produced profound insights regarding movement, cognition and learning ... She has also discovered that cells in the striatum undergo major reorganization when habits are learned and as familiar tasks come to be performed in the nearly automatic fashion that typifies habitual activity."

Associate Professor of Biology Angelika Amon of the Center for Cancer Research has won the Eli Lilly and Co. Research Award from the American Society for Microbiology. Her research focuses on regulation of the cell cycle; she has discovered and analyzed a major mehcanism by which cells control exit from mitosis.

For more Awards and Honors, see

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 12, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News