Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

Professor Wai K. Cheng of mechanical engineering has been named a Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers, an honor for members that recognizes outstanding engineering creativity and leadership. Cheng's research is on spark ignition engines and diesel engines.

Two MIT faculty members have received Young Investigator Awards from the Office of Naval Research. Assistant Professor Moe Win, the Charles Stark Draper Assistant Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, will use the funding for research on advanced materials characterization and design of lithium battery electrode materials. Assistant Professor Yang Shao-Horn of mechanical engineering will work on rapid acquisition techniques for ultra-wide bandwidth systems. The objective of the award program is to attract outstanding new faculty members to Navy-related research.

Two MIT biology faculty members have received the new Chestnut Hill Award for Excellence in Medical Research: Associate Professor Frank Gertler and Professor Tyler Jacks. Gertler was cited by the Chestnut Hill Charitable Foundation (formerly Har-court General of Boston) "for his contributions to scientific knowledge of cellular motility and discovery of a mechanism that regulates cell movement within developing embryos." Jacks, who is director of the Center for Cancer Research, was honored "for his work in the area of cancer genetics, which had led to novel insights in both tumor development and normal cell development."

Professor of Political Science Nazli Choucri has been elected to the European Academy of Sciences. Members are elected on the basis of "distinguished and unique contribution to modern science and technology." Choucri was elected "for outstanding and lasting contributions to political sciences and leadership in the forefront of research and education."

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 12, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News