Skip to content ↓

Three named to professorships

Three faculty members have recently been named to endowed professorships.

Professor Joshua Cohen, the Leon and Anne Goldberg Professor of Humanities and head of the Department of Linguistics and Philosophy, has been chosen as the Romanell-Phi Beta Kappa Professor in Philosophy for 2002-03. The award, made by the Phi Beta Kappa Society to one scholar in philosophy each year, stems from a gift by Patrick and Edna Romanell, the H.Y. Benedict Professor Emeritus of Philosophy at the University of Texas at El Paso. Cohen will give three special lectures at MIT next year in his capacity as holder of the chair.

Professor of Geology Samuel A. Bowring in the Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences is the holder of the Breene M. Kerr Professorship starting Jan. 1 for a five-year term. The chair was established by Kerr (S.B. 1951) to honor distinguished professors at the Institute.

Professor Rohan Abeyaratne, head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering and a Van Buren N. Hansford Faculty Fellow, is the new holder of the Quentin Berg Professorship beginning Nov. 1, 2001 for a five-year renewable term. The chair was established in 1981 by the late Frances H. Berg, wife of the late Quentin Berg (S.B. 1937 in mechanical engineering), who founded Berg Electronics Inc., now a division of E.I. DuPont de Nemours and Co.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 13, 2002.

Related Topics

More MIT News