Skip to content ↓

Two faculty members named to endowed professorships

Two faculty members have been named to endowed professorships this year.

Assistant Professor Darrell Irvine of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and the Biological Engineering Division was appointed to the Karl Van Tassel Career Development Professorship for a three-year term beginning January 1, 2002. Van Tassel, a member of the Class of 1925, established the chair in 1986 as a tribute to faculty members who pursue excellence in their teaching and research activities.

Professor John M. Essigman of the Department of Chemistry and the Biological Engineering Division is the newest holder of the William R. (1956) and Betsy P. Leitch Professorship in Residence for a five-year term beginning July 1, while he is housemaster of Simmons Hall. The $1 million endowment from the Leitches of Newtonville will support the housemaster and a fund for residential life programs and special events at Simmons Hall. Mr. Leitch, a 1956 graduate in economics, was a senior vice president at International Data Group (IDG) in Framingham before he retired.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 5, 2002.

Related Topics

More MIT News