Skip to content ↓

EECS gives awards for exceptional classroom, lab and thesis work

The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science recognized the academic achievements of a number of students in 2001-02. All are students majoring in electrical engineering and computer science unless otherwise noted.

Five graduate students received teaching awards. The Carlton E. Tucker Teaching Award went to Benjamin M. Vandiver of Lexington. The Harold L. Hazen Teaching Award was presented to Watjana Lilaonitkul of Bangkok, and the Frederick C. Hennie III Teaching Award went to Brian Dean of Cambridge; David Dunmeyer of Carlsbad, Calif.; and Kazutaka Takahashi of Kyoto, a graduate student in aeronautics and astronautics.

The George M. Sprowls Scholarship Fund Award for the best Ph.D. thesis in computer science went to 2001 graduates Miguel Castro of Cambridge, England; Edward Kohler of Berkeley, Calif.; and Matthew Antone of Detroit.

The Northern Telecom/BNR Project Award for the best project in 6.111 (Introductory Digital Systems Laboratory) was presented to Andrew Lam , a senior from Hingham, and Nathan Fitzgerald , a senior in aeronautics and astronautics from Hyannis; and graduate student Christopher Lyon from Kensington, Calif., for their "Visual Target Tracking System" in the spring term. The award for the fall term went to David Milliner , a junior from New Orleans; Yonathan Nuta , a junior from Boston; and junior Edward Hill for their "Rhythm Master" project.

Three students received the George C. Newton Undergraduate Lab Prize for the best 6.111 project: Sourav Dey , a senior from Midland, Mich.; Manu Seth , a senior from San Jose, Calif.; and Sean Lie , a junior from Markham, Ontario, for their "Shadow Box" project. Marion Jones , a junior from Berkeley, Calif., won the David A. Chanen Writing Award for the best paper in 6.033 (Computer System Engineering).

Graduate student Todd P. Coleman of Duncanville, Texas won the Morris Joseph Levin Award. The MasterWorks Oral Thesis Presentation Award was given to Lillian Dai of Calgary Alberta; Joseph H. Levine of Williamsville, N.Y.; Ari Libarikian of Montreal; Michael Mills of Keller, Texas; Allen Miu of Union City, Calif.; Delphine Nain of Grasse, France; Adam Rosenthal of Boca Raton, Fla.; and David D. Wentzloff of Watertown.

The Charles and Jennifer Johnson Thesis Prize for the best master's thesis in computer science was awarded to graduate students Jeremy Nimmer of Mequon, Wis., and Heidi Pan of Palo Alto, Calif. Frank Dabek , a graduate student from Cincinnati, won the William A. Martin Memorial Thesis Prize for the best master's thesis in computer science. Honorable mentions were awarded to graduate students Andrej Bogdanov of Macedonia, Alex Park of Singapore, William Thies of State College, Penn., and Nain .

Two graduate students won the David Adler Memorial Thesis Prize for the best master's thesis in electrical engineering: Eko Liuwandi of West Java and Esa Masood of Singapore. Honorable mention went to Rajul Shah of Seattle.

Graduate students Petros Boufounos of Dionyssos, Greece and Joseph Levine of Williamsville, N.Y., won the Ernst A. Guillemin Thesis Award for the best master's thesis in electrical engineering. Chi Yu Liang of Great Falls, Va., won honorable mention.

The Robert A. Fano UROP Award went to seniors Eric Hsieh of Hattiesburg, Miss., and Prasad Ramanan of Emerson, N.J. The Anna Pogosyants UROP Award was presented to Christopher Luhrs , a junior from Lomita, Calif.

The Nylander Award Advanced Undergraduate Project Award was given to seniors Yoan Anguilet of Liberville, Gabon, and Mathew Mishrikey of Bryn Mawr, Penn. Honorable mentions went to seniors Winston Chang of Plano, Texas; Aneal Krishnan of Arlington, Texas; Andrew Lamb of Hingham; and Peter Russo of Iowa City, Iowa.

The Departmental Special Recognition Award for outstanding service to the department and its students was presented to graduate student Maya Said of Damascus, Syria, and Sanjay Rao , a senior from Palo Alto, Calif.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 5, 2002.

Related Topics

More MIT News