Skip to content ↓

Ptolemy Players salute Pulitzer-winning composers

The Ptolemy Players, a 27-member ensemble of MIT students, alumni and affiliates, will present music by winners of the Pulitzer Prize for music composition on Friday, Sept. 20 at 7:30 p.m. in Killian Hall.

The program includes pieces by Institute Professor John Harbison, Virgil Thomson, William Bolcom, Elliott Carter, Aaron Copland, Samuel Barber and Ned Rorem. The ensemble, which was formed in 1998 as the "Fluff Artists," prides itself on quirky program notes and audience quizzes. This is their ninth performance at MIT.

"I hope the audience will go away from our concert realizing how many talented musicians MIT has and that modern American chamber music is worth hearing," said the group's founder, Jaemin Rhee, a McDonnell-Pew postdoctoral fellow in cognitive neuroscience. "All of our concerts really have one goal: to play good music and have fun, for both the players and the audience."

For more information, e-mail

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on September 18, 2002.

Related Topics

More MIT News