Skip to content ↓

Summer orchestra to perform

The MIT Summer Philharmonic Orchestra under the direction of George Ogata (SB 1992), will perform an all-Russian program of works by Tchaikovsky and Rimsky-Korsakov on Saturday, Aug. 4 at 8 p.m. in Kresge Auditorium. The concert is free.

Truly a melting pot of the best amateur musicians in the area, the orchnestra is composed of MIT students, alumni and staff as well as members of the greater Boston community. The 100-member orchestra, now in its sixth year, gives musicians an opportunity to perform orchestral music during the summer months at its once-a-year concert.

"It's been a riveting experience and a true privilege to conduct such fine members of the MIT and general community -- and to see the orchestra grow both in ability and stature," said Ogata, who graduated from MIT with a major in biology and a minor in music. "The combination of younger and older musicians, each generation bringing to the ensemble its brand of enthusiasm and wisdom, makes the MIT Summer Philharmonic Orchestra a unique musical institution of Greater Boston."

As a Longy School of Music faculty member, Ogata also conducts the Young Performers Chamber Orchestra, the senior youth orchestra program of the school's Preparatory Division.

The program will feature three works known for showcasing orchestral virtuosity: Tchaikovsky's "Capriccio Italien," Rimsky-Korsakov's "Capriccio Espagnol" and Tchaikovsky's "Symphony #4."

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on July 18, 2001.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News