Skip to content ↓

62 seniors elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Sixty-two members of the Class of 2001 were elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa this year. A lecture and initiation ceremony scheduled for June 7 are open to all Phi Beta Kappa members at MIT, wherever initiated.

This year's lecture by Morris Halle, Institute Professor Emeritus of linguistics is entitled "What Makes (Some) Verse Metrical?" It will take place at 2:45pm in Killian Hall and will be followed by the initiation ceremony, followed by a reception.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa honors the nation's most outstanding undergraduate students for excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.

The newly elected students and their majors are:

Christopher D. Allen of Encinitas, CA (biology); Ishan Anand of Chelmsford, MA (electrical engineering and computer science, or EECS); Jonna B. Anderson of Vancouver, WA (urban studies and planning); Luciano Castagnola of Buenos Aires, Argentina (mathematics); Connie Y. Chang of Needham, MA (biology and chemical engineering); Eric C. Chang of Milpitas, CA (biology); Jolie L. Chang of Sugar Land, TX (EECS); Chi Ming Chen of Hong Kong (physics); Pok Man Cheung of Hong Kong (mathematics and physics); Jennie J. Cho of Jackson Heights, NY (biology); Antonio J. Copete Villa of Bogota, Colombia (physics); Ethan G. Cotterill of Silver Spring, MD (mathematics).

Riaz S. Dhanani of Houston (economics and biology); Cristina Estrada of Bogota, Colombia (economics); Molly S. Forr of Altoona, PA (architecture); Karolina Fraczkowska of Lawrenceville, NJ (biology); Michael D. Frakes of Downington, PA (economics); Zofia K. Gajdos of Chadds Ford, PA (biology); Aram W. Harrow of East Lansing, MI (mathematics and physics); Saria M. Hassan of Khartoum, Sudan (biology); Samantha L. Hess of Midlothian, VA (biology); John B. Hough of Midland, MI (physics and mathematics); Kathie P. Huang of Bridgewater, NJ (biology).

Sam Jahanmir of Gaithersburg, MD (biology and management); Mark H. Jhon of Pittsburgh (materials science and engineering and physics); Lynn C. Johnson of Brunswick, ME (political science); Murat E. Kara of Bursa, Turkey (chemical engineering and biology); Peter S. Kim of Raleigh, NC (mathematics); Douglas L. Kriner of Sarasota, FL (political science and history); Christopher T. Lesniewski-Laas of Cohasset, MA (mathematics); Lauren McCann of Rutherford, NJ (mathematics); Jennifer L. Meanwell of Ashland, OH (materials science and engineering); Laura M. Moulton of Groton, MA (history).

Cody P. Nave of Evans, GA (physics); Tamara N. Oei of Gaithersburg, MD (chemical engineering and biology); Philip Osafo-Kwaako of Accra, Ghana (chemical engineering and economics); Margaret W. Pan of Princeton Junction, NJ (physics and earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences or EAPS); Alex S. Park of Sarnia, Ontario (EECS and mathematics); Terrence C. Poon of Houston (EECS and economics).

Priya M. Rajendran of Los Altos, CA (biology); Douglas J. Ricket of Saratoga, CA (EECS); Michael J. Ring of Milford, MA (physics and EAPS); Morgan Royce-Tolland of Framingham, MA (biology); Jorg Scholvin of Wolfsburg, Germany (EECS); Nina K. Shah of Westport, CT (biology and brain and cognitive sciences); Brian D. Smithling of Beaver Falls, NY (physics and mathematics); Christopher Snow of Edmonds, WA (chemistry); Derek G. Southwell of Plymouth, MN (biology); Adriane A. Stebbins of Gothenburg, NE (chemistry); Amy K. Strickert of Austin, TX (EECS); Andreas Sundquist of Stockholm, Sweden (EECS, physics and mathematics); Joshua Sussan of Bronx, NY (mathematics); Ryan K. Swenerton of Vacaville, CA (biology).

Philip B. Tan of Singapore (humanities); William F. Thies of State College, PA (EECS and mathematics); Le L. Truong of Los Angeles (management); Jeffrey R. Vieregg of Wheaton, IL (physics); Binbin Wang of Basking Ridge, NJ (biology); Jade Wang (EECS); Jason H. Wasfy, (chemical engineering), Great Falls, VA; Gabe Weinberg of Marietta, GA (physics); and Susan Yuditskaya of Burlington, MA (chemistry).

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 6, 2001.

Related Topics

More MIT News